New Location Now Open in Glen Ellyn!

Reviews for River Forest, IL Ophthalmologist Hiral Patel, OD Traditional Cataract Surgery Services

The team at Kirk Eye Center is dedicated to providing a wide range of eye care services to meet your unique vision needs. We are a family-owned practice founded more than 50 years ago, currently spanning three generations of doctors. Over the years, many patients have trusted us to provide high-quality ophthalmology care in a safe and attentive environment. We invite you to take a look at our patient feedback to learn more about what you can expect when you visit us in River Forest or Gurnee, IL.

Filter9 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from G.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 22, 2022

Although I am fairly young, for some reason my eyes started to develop cataracts. Getting to a point when driving my car became a dangerous adventure, after a thorough search on internet I have opted for cataract surgery at Kirk Eye Center. I wasn’t disappointed, everything there was top notch! Starting from the receptionists to the nurses, I was always treated in a very professional and courteous manner. Many thanks to Ms Joyce Wolter, the surgery manager who helped me going through all the paperwork and dealed with my insurance! She made everything look easy to me! All my life since childhood I’ve had poor vision but now after my right eye surgery I have 20/20 vision! It feels like I am reborn, all these vibrant colors and multitude of details I have never been aware before! Thank you from the bottom of my heart, Dr Scott Kirk! You gave me the best gift! We all take for granted the vision and we realize that only after we lose it! Note: I have opted for premium IOL’s, I wanted for my eyes the best I can get. They are quite expensive and not covered by insurance, but I can personally state that they worth every penny! I cannot wait for the left eye surgery a week from today! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2021

I had cataract surgery at the Kirk Eye Center and I must say they are wonderful! Dr. Scott Kirk did a very good job. I'm very impressed with the care he provided and the staff there. I definitely give them 5+ stars. Tina Wesley More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2021

I knew that I had to go to the eye doctor, as my eyesight seemed to be getting worse and worse, and that it was quite possibly because of cataracts. Not being able to see up close is in my estimation, somewhat of a relative issue, but driving at night was becoming more difficult. Halos on headlights or any type of street light was soon going to be a limitation. I came to Dr. Kent Kirk because my former eye doctor had retired after many years and my files had been transferred to the Kirk Eye Center. I found Dr. Kent Kirk to be very professional and knowledgeable about the procedures that he would be doing on my eyes. He took me through the procedure step-by-step. I actually decided to have the cataract surgery performed on my left eye, just two days before my birthday. Though I was a bit apprehensive, I found that everything that was done, was exactly what had been outlined. One thing that I had learned prior to the surgery was that cataract surgery was first performed in about 1750 and I really figured that this surgery would go with no issue. Little did I know that the surgery would go way better than I could have imagined. I found that on the way home, I already could see more clearly, whether it was license plates on vehicle around me, street signs, or even brighter interior lights. My left eye was markedly improved. I came back the next day for the post-surgery follow-up and Dr. Kirk was quite pleased with his work, as was I. He did ask when I wanted to do the right eye and I immediately told him - asap! I was able to have the appointment for the right eye surgery, 13 days later. This time the cataract surgery went easily, as well as the first. The big difference was there was very little apprehension on my part. Again, I was amazed at how well my vision had improved on the way home. In fact, I don’t really know if I had ever seen as well as I do now. I had glasses from when I was first in grammar school, but I went away from glasses and in to contacts in about December of 1974. I was working as a rookie policeman and was assigned to a “bank robbery in progress” call. When I entered the bank, my glasses fogged up. Within days, I made the appointment for contacts. From December 1974, I never wore glasses again. Now with the cataract surgery done on both eyes, I find that I do not need glasses for distance, and, amazingly, I will only need reading glasses that are at the lower end of the prescription range and that depends on just how small the letters are. All things considered, this may have been one of the best choices that I have ever made. At my age, I can probably say that my knee replacement was good, but, you know, there is nothing like being able to see clearly. Dr. Kent Kirk and his staff, both at the normal visits and the two surgery visits were fantastic. They exhibited a great deal of professionalism and, I must say that I was quite impressed with just how routine they could make this surgery. If you are unsure, I say - go for it! And Dr. Kent Kirk is the right person for getting the job done right. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 29, 2020

I knew that I had to go to the eye doctor, as my eyesight seemed to be getting worse and worse, and that it was quite possibly because of cataracts. Not being able to see up close is in my estimation, somewhat of a relative issue, but driving at night was becoming more difficult. Halos on headlights or any type of street light was soon going to be a limitation. I came to Dr. Kent Kirk because my former eye doctor had retired after many years and my files had been transferred to the Kirk Eye Center. I found Dr. Kent Kirk to be very professional and knowledgeable about the procedures that he would be doing on my eyes. He took me through the procedure step-by-step. I actually decided to have the cataract surgery performed on my left eye, just two days before my birthday. Though I was a bit apprehensive, I found that everything that was done, was exactly what had been outlined. One thing that I had learned prior to the surgery was that cataract surgery was first performed in about 1750 and I really figured that this surgery would go with no issue. Little did I know that the surgery would go way better than I could have imagined. I found that on the way home, I already could see more clearly, whether it was license plates on vehicle around me, street signs, or even brighter interior lights. My left eye was markedly improved. I came back the next day for the post-surgery follow-up and Dr. Kirk was quite pleased with his work, as was I. He did ask when I wanted to do the right eye and I immediately told him - asap! I was able to have the appointment for the right eye surgery, 13 days later. This time the cataract surgery went easily, as well as the first. The big difference was there was very little apprehension on my part. Again, I was amazed at how well my vision had improved on the way home. In fact, I don’t really know if I had ever seen as well as I do now. I had glasses from when I was first in grammar school, but I went away from glasses and in to contacts in about December of 1974. I was working as a rookie policeman and was assigned to a “bank robbery in progress” call. When I entered the bank, my glasses fogged up. Within days, I made the appointment for contacts. From December 1974, I never wore glasses again. Now with the cataract surgery done on both eyes, I find that I do not need glasses for distance, and, amazingly, I will only need reading glasses that are at the lower end of the prescription range and that depends on just how small the letters are. All things considered, this may have been one of the best choices that I have ever made. At my age, I can probably say that my knee replacement was good, but, you know, there is nothing like being able to see clearly. Dr. Kent Kirk and his staff, both at the normal visits and the two surgery visits were fantastic. They exhibited a great deal of professionalism and, I must say that I was quite impressed with just how routine they could make this surgery. If you are unsure, I say - go for it! And Dr. Kent Kirk is the right person for getting the job done right. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 28, 2020

I knew that I had to go to the eye doctor, as my eyesight seemed to be getting worse and worse, and that it was quite possibly because of cataracts.  Not being able to see up close is in my estimation, somewhat of a relative issue, but driving at night was becoming more difficult.  Halos on headlights or any type of street light was soon going to be a limitation.I came to Dr. Kent Kirk because my former eye doctor had retired after many years and my files had been transferred to the Kirk Eye Center.  I found Dr. Kent Kirk to be very professional and knowledgeable about the procedures that he would be doing on my eyes.  He took me through the procedure step-by-step.  I actually decided to have the cataract surgery performed on my left eye, just two days before my birthday.  Though I was a bit apprehensive, I found that everything that was done, was exactly what had been outlined.  One thing that I had learned prior to the surgery was that cataract surgery was first performed in about 1750 and I really figured that this surgery would go with no issue.  Little did I know that the surgery would go way better than I could have imagined.  I found that on the way home, I already could see more clearly, whether it was license plates on vehicle around me, street signs, or even brighter interior lights. My left eye was markedly improved.  I came back the next day for the post-surgery follow-up and Dr. Kirk was quite pleased with his work, as was I.He did ask when I wanted to do the right eye and I immediately told him - asap!  I was able to have the appointment for the right eye surgery, 13 days later.  This time the cataract surgery went easily, as well as the first.  The big difference was there was very little apprehension on my part.  Again, I was amazed at how well my vision had improved on the way home.  In fact, I don’t really know if I had ever seen as well as I do now.I had glasses from when I was first in grammar school, but I went away from glasses and in to contacts in about December of 1974.  I was working as a rookie policeman and was assigned to a "bank robbery in progress" call.  When I entered the bank, my glasses fogged up.  Within days, I made the appointment for contacts.  From December 1974, I never wore glasses again.Now with the cataract surgery done on both eyes, I find that I do not need glasses for distance, and, amazingly, I will only need reading glasses that are at the lower end of the prescription range and that depends on just how small the letters are.All things considered, this may have been one of the best choices that I have ever made.  At my age, I can probably say that my knee replacement was good, but, you know, there is nothing like being able to see clearly.Dr. Kent Kirk and his staff, both at the normal visits and the two surgery visits were fantastic.  They exhibited a great deal of professionalism and, I must say that I was quite impressed with just how routine they could make this surgery.  If you are unsure, I say - go for it!  And Dr. Kent Kirk is the right person for getting the job done right. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 25, 2014

I recently went in to see if I could get Lasik.  I had perfect vision growing up and with age, I noticed my vision getting worse (Presbyopia).  First cheaters in my 40s and then monovision and then bifocal contacts and glasses.  Then I node my general vision was also declining.  At age 58, this was not how I wanted to continue.After an extensive exam, Dr. Kirk advised me that I wasn’t a "good candidate for Lasik" as he noted an early onset of cataracts. It was not immediately noticeable and there was no cloudiness.  Dr. Kirk told me the first clue, which resulted in a much more detailed exam was  that my prescription changed a full 2 diopters in one year and that was a sign of possible cataracts.  A less detailed exam might not have picked this up until they were more developed.  My vision would only continue to get worse and undo the good of the Laisik. While the cataracts would not become an issue for perhaps 15 years, I would need to stay in glasses or contacts and have worsening vision each year.  The proposed long-term solution would be to have cataract surgery and then have bifocal lenses implanted.  Considered elective surgery, it was costlier than Lasik, but it was a "lifetime" solution, meaning my vision would never worsen after the surgery.After independent research, I agreed and have had both eyes repaired.  I had the "Restore" IOLs implanted.  Their staff are all very helpful and I had all of my concerns addressed.  They did not make promises of perfect vision, only that I would see an great improvement.  This type of procedure also meant I would never develop cataracts.The eyes were done one at a time, two weeks apart.  The procedures were totally pain free.  I did decline any sedation, as I wanted to fully understand what was happening.  There was no need for it.  The  doctors (Scott for the first and Kent for the second) both made sure I understood everything that was going on.  The follow up care was excellent.The best way to describe the results are miraculous!  I now have 20/20 vision in both eyes and am totally free of any additional eyewear (including cheaters).  I also noticed that I no longer saw "floaters" which I had begun to see over the past year.  I have crystal clear vision and good not be happier. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

I read the reviews on the internet and selected Kirk Eye Center and what a great decision that was. My vision was getting cloudy and I decided it was time to get my eyes checked. I needed cataract surgery and Dr Kent Kirk performed that for me yesterday. The procedure took about 15 minutes and there was no pain during the entire procedure. I had zero side effects: no inflammation, no infection, no swelling, no bleeding, no glaucoma or retinal problems. As I write today online, I can read the computer screen better now than with my glasses. At my followup visit today Dr Kent Kirk told me that everything was so successful that I could start driving again. No restrictions. I couldn't be more pleased. Dr Kent Kirk is the "Michael Jordan" of ophthalmologists. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

Recently had cataract surgery in March 2020 and it was overall the most Excellent service I could of ever hoped for. You were warmly welcomed, Each person introduced themselves to you and guided you along as to what was happening next, So very well organized and ran very smoothly. I was totally delighted in the service I received. I had total confidence in Dr. Kent Kirk and his surgical staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

I had cataract surgery over a year ago, and I hesitated to write a review until I knew if there would be any future complications. And there were none! Cataract surgery was one of the best gifts I’ve ever given myself. For years I’ve struggled with reading glasses, and at age 73 my vision became more and more blurred, and everything just looked a bit foggier and gloomier. I assumed it was my age, but made an appointment with Dr. Kent Kirk to be on the safe side. He was very kind and easy to talk to, and after being tested, I was told I had cataracts, and he recommended the surgery. He also said I was a good candidate to have my vision corrected as well, although Medicare would only insure the basic surgery. I have a very tight budget in retirement, so it was not an easy decision. But I took the chance, put it on a credit card, and hoped for the best. I was very impressed with the expedient and systematic way in which the whole procedure was handled. There was no waiting around - when I came in, they were ready for me. There was no pain, no discomfort, and I was ready to go home in less than a half hour. On that very first day, I was amazed that I could see clearly, without glasses, and instead of the usual off-color cast over my entire environment, I saw more whites, more blues, less grays and browns. The recovery period lasted only a few days, and that too was painless - just a routine of eye drops for a period of time. I am now in my mid 70’s, and when I visit my 45 and 50 year old children, they’re reaching for their reading glasses every few minutes, and their mom has perfect vision! Nothing has deteriorated since then, and I would highly recommend this outstanding eye clinic. And I haven’t regretted for a moment my having to use a credit card to pay for it. Carol Strunc Westchester, IL More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.