New Location Now Open in Glen Ellyn!

Reviews for River Forest, IL Ophthalmologist Carter Kirk, MD Traditional Cataract Surgery Services

The team at Kirk Eye Center is dedicated to providing a wide range of eye care services to meet your unique vision needs. We are a family-owned practice founded more than 50 years ago, currently spanning three generations of doctors. Over the years, many patients have trusted us to provide high-quality ophthalmology care in a safe and attentive environment. We invite you to take a look at our patient feedback to learn more about what you can expect when you visit us in River Forest or Gurnee, IL.

Filter63 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 20, 2023

Gurnee Kirk is my "go to home office". Recently had the Femto/Lasik cataract surgery at the surgical center in River Forest. I cannot begin to tell you how professional and yet personal everyone was I came in contact with. From the doctors and technicians, to staff and even the terrific van driver. Everything went so smoothly and I was informed every inch of the way in a very successful procedure. Even the followups being turned over to my long time Optometrist just down the street from me. Five stars is not enough... twenty or more is necessary. Choose Kirk Eye Center, you'll always be grateful you did. Darrell May, Antioch IL. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.O.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 08, 2024

I knew that eventually I would need Cataract surgery. I attempted to find a surgeon, but I was disappointed with reviews until I changed my eye doctor to Dr Crawford in Antioch who agreed that I would benefit from surgery and recommended Kirk Eye Center in Gurnee. My experience has been nothing short of miraculous. The appointments were prompt and professional. The procedure was PAINLESS, and recovery has been free of any problems! The results exceeded my expectations. In my closet, I can tell the difference between Navy and black. I don't need a flashlight to see the floor in my car. I can see the back of my cabinets. Under the exceptional operation and continuing support, I receive from Dr. Kirk and Dr. Crawford, I am extremely pleased with the outcoming! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 26, 2024

I just had a cataract removed and had a pleasant experience starting with the friendly receptionist and then all the awesome staff. Everyone made sure I was comfortable and explained what would take place. The procedure was quick and painless. I would highly recommend Kirk Eye Center and their friendly and knowledgeable staff to anyone. Thank you for making my experience pleasant. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 29, 2023

Great experience with Dr Carter Kirk. He did my evaluation for cataract surgery. Thorough and complete. He did recommend surgery for my left eye and walk me thru options. Grateful for such s kind and understanding Dr. I did ask alot of questions and Dr Carter answered them all. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 21, 2023

Dr. Tyler Kirk gave me my sight back when two other doctors could not. I lost my sight during a routine cataract surgery performed by another doctor. Dr.Kirk was the only one that operated successsfully and gave me my sight back. I will be forever grateful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 19, 2023

Very, very happy with the services provided by Kirk Eye Center. The entire team at Kirk Eye Center are professional, caring and thorough in their duties. I could not be happier with the outcome of my cataract surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 26, 2023

Easy parking and an accomadating Friendly staff. I was fully informed of what was being done . I have complete confidence in the staff and the physician . I trust Dr Kent Kirk with my eyes . I had lasik more than 20 years ago with Dr Kent Kirk and I could not be more pleased . I didn’t look forward to cataracts . It stinks getting old but I’m glad I have such good people to take care of me . I had cataract surgery October 18th 2023 It was so easy I’m mad I didn’t do it sooner. It’s one week and vision is 20/20 . No pain Eye drops but no oral medication. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 06, 2023

I had cataract surgery a few months ago at the Kirk Eye Center. Dr. Kent Kirk was fantastic. He listened to all of my concerns and made me feel very comfortable. The staff was also very professional.  I would highly recommend them for all your eye care needs.. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 06, 2023

I had cataract surgery a few months ago at the Kirk Eye Center. Dr. Kent Kirk was fantastic. He listened to all of my concerns and made me feel very comfortable. The staff was also very professional. I would highly recommend them for all your eye care needs.. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 04, 2023

I had cataract surgery on both eyes at Kirk Eye Center. My Vision was a mess but almost immediately after surgery I could see so well, able to see things in this house I wasn't able to see for the five years we lived here. The staff are all kind and Profesional. Would highly recommend Kirk Eye Center. Thank you Dr Carter Kirk and all of your staff! I CAN SEE!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from X.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 30, 2023

I recently had the privilege of undergoing cataract surgery performed by Dr. Tyler Kirk and his exceptional team. To say I am delighted with the results would be an understatement. From the moment I stepped into their care, the experience was nothing short of remarkable. Dr. Kirk's expertise and precision were evident throughout the procedure, making it entirely painless and comfortable. The transformation in my vision has been nothing short of miraculous. The results have far surpassed my wildest expectations. I can't even remember when my eyesight was last this remarkable. I want to extend my heartfelt gratitude to Dr. Tyler Kirk and his dedicated team of professionals. Their skill, compassion, and commitment to patient care are truly commendable. Thanks to them, I now enjoy a level of vision I had long thought was unattainable. If you're considering cataract surgery, I wholeheartedly recommend Dr. Tyler Kirk and his team. They have not only improved my vision but also my quality of life, and for that, I am truly grateful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 01, 2023

I had cataract surgery on both eyes this past month. The pre-surgery visits were efficient and informative detailing my options for new optical lenses and what I would need to do to prepare. The entire staff as well as the doctors were friendly and knowledgeable. The two surgeries went effortlessly with no pain. The post-surgery exams were also efficient informing me of the healing process. All in all everything went excellently and I am enjoying my new glasses-free vision. Thank you Doctor Carter Kirk, Rose, and the rest of the Kirk staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 30, 2023

I received 100% service from Kirk Eye Center. 100% satisfied with the outcome of my cataract surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 04, 2023

Dr. Scott Kirk performed my cataract surgery with a multifocal lens. The procedure was painless and the results were significantly better than I could have imagined. I can’t even remember how long it has been since my eyesight was this great. A huge thank you to Dr. Kirk and his team of professionals. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 23, 2023

Dr Kent Kirk was very professional and explained all issues in an easy to comprehend manner. The cataract surgery went smoothly More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.L.  |  Source: Google  |  May 20, 2023

Seeing better! Who would believe the colors after cataract surgery would be so vibrant? First the left eye, then the right eye was the plan. Well, it was very easy to understand the importance of great eye care after I covered my left eye (with my hand) , looked at an object and for many years thought it was burgundy, but, in fact it was purple. Well, this is just my example of how surprised I was to see the brightness and clarity around me. Thank you to the great surgical expertise of Dr. Kent Kirk, Dr. Scott Kirk and all the Docs snd Staff at the Kirk Eye & Surgical Center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 26, 2023

I needed cataract surgery and am So glad I came to Kirk. So efficient and what a friendly staff! They make sure you understand everything your treatment will encompass. I HIGHLY recommend them! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 22, 2023

I CAN SEE AGAIN !! This is the first review I have ever written, but very well deserving. Excellent care from the receptionists to the technicians to obviously the doctors. The receptionists were very accommodating in scheduling appointments. The technicians explained what each test determined, while the doctor determined and implemented the correct action. Cataract surgery was successful, pain free, and stress free as I was sedated. Results were back to 20/20 vision. I would highly recommend Kirk Eye Center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 10, 2023

Excellent pre- and post-operative care. Doctors Kirk both were thorough in their exams as well concise explanations of process, procedures and care for cataract surgery as well as Lasix surgery. Support staff caring. comforting and competent. Top-notch team. Highly recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.Z.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 21, 2023

I recently had cataracts removed & trifocal lenses put in on Dec. 20, 2022 & 3 weeks later, Jan. 10, 2023. I couldn't be happier with the surgery (it was quick & painless) and the results (my vision is now 20/20 with colors being brighter & images being sharp & clear. It no longer looks like I'm looking through wax paper) I do not have to wear glasses for distance or reading anymore. I had my favorite frames turned into UV-polarized sunglasses! Kirk Eye Center is the best! The Surgical center in River Forest fulfilled all my needs. The staff was accommodating, pleasant, & right on task, explaining what was being done for every step along the way. I was comfortable & relaxed. The doctor, Carter Kirk was very professional, knowledgeable, explained each step, and made sure I was fine at every step of the surgery. You could tell her is an expert at his job. The Gurnee office, for pre-op & follow up appointments, also has a great staff that is welcoming, knowledgeable, friendly, & keeps things moving. I would highly recommend the Kirk Eye Center for anyone contemplating cataract surgery. You will be so happy with your clear sight & you will be happy with the doctors & staff there. Thank you Kirk Eye Center! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 05, 2022

Great experience with cataract surgery at the Kirk Eye Center. The procedure was quick and the staff very organized. Everything was thoroughly explained before and after the procedure. Wish I had this done years ago as my vision is now better than ever. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 22, 2022

Although I am fairly young, for some reason my eyes started to develop cataracts. Getting to a point when driving my car became a dangerous adventure, after a thorough search on internet I have opted for cataract surgery at Kirk Eye Center. I wasn’t disappointed, everything there was top notch! Starting from the receptionists to the nurses, I was always treated in a very professional and courteous manner. Many thanks to Ms Joyce Wolter, the surgery manager who helped me going through all the paperwork and dealed with my insurance! She made everything look easy to me! All my life since childhood I’ve had poor vision but now after my right eye surgery I have 20/20 vision! It feels like I am reborn, all these vibrant colors and multitude of details I have never been aware before! Thank you from the bottom of my heart, Dr Scott Kirk! You gave me the best gift! We all take for granted the vision and we realize that only after we lose it! Note: I have opted for premium IOL’s, I wanted for my eyes the best I can get. They are quite expensive and not covered by insurance, but I can personally state that they worth every penny! I cannot wait for the left eye surgery a week from today! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 13, 2022

Dr Kent Kirk and the entire staff are amazing.They are caring, well organized and I had a fantastic resultMy sight in my right eye went from just barely being able to see the big E on the eye chart to 20/25 visionJust incredible!!!Thank you Dr Kent Kirk and staff I could not be happier Getting ready to do my second cataract surgery and I would NOT use anyone else but Kirk Eye Care!!!They know what they are doing and do eye care extremely well!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 30, 2022

I had cataract surgery on my right eye October 26th 2021 and then on April 26th 2022 I had surgery on my other eye for cataracts. Both eye surgeries were to correct my long distance vision. And it wound up correcting both visions. I was supposed to have only reading glasses after both surgeries but as a result I no longer need glasses for either. I couldn't be happier Dr Carter Kirk and his family did wonders I highly recommend them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 16, 2022

Amazing eye service! Professional, knowledgeable, organized eye service for cataract surgery. Pain free and results above expectations! From the receptionist to the doctor, Kirk eye center delivered exceptional srervice!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 03, 2022

I am so happy with the results of my first cataract surgery that I have already scheduled the one in my right eye. Everyone at Kirk is professional, compassionate, and wonderful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 19, 2022

I had a cataract that needed removing for quite some time. I made an appointment for late December 2021. It is late January 2022 and I have had cataract surgery on both eyes. I cannot tell you how pleased I am with my entire experience at Kirk Eye Center. All of the helpers are super nice and proficient. My doctor was Dr. Kent Kirk and I am so pleased with the experience of his care. His 'favorite' word is beautiful regarding the healing process. Too cute and very encouraging. The surgeries themselves went super well, fast and efficiently. I can actually read without glasses for the first time in 60 years. I am totally satisfied with my entire experience at Kirk Eye Care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 30, 2022

I had a cataract that needed removing for quite some time. I made an appointment for late December 2021. It is late January 2022 and I have had cataract surgery on both eyes. I cannot tell you how pleased I am with my entire experience at Kirk Eye Center. All of the helpers are super nice and proficient. My doctor was Dr. Kent Kirk and I am so pleased with the experience of his care. His 'favorite' word is beautiful regarding the healing process. Too cute and very encouraging. The surgeries themselves went super well, fast and efficiently. I can actually read without glasses for the first time in 60 years. I am totally satisfied with my entire experience at Kirk Eye Care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 29, 2022

I had a cataract in my left eye that was really bothering me.  I made an appointment to see Dr. Kent Kirk in late December 2021.  I can’t tell you how happy I am with the "entire" experience at Kirk Eye Care.  It is now late January 2022 and I have had cataract surgery on both eyes.  I am wowed at the difference in my vision. I can read without glasses for the first time in 60 years.  All of the staff at Kirk are wonderful helpful folk.  The whole process ran so smoothly, I am amazed.  Dr Kent is friendly with a wealth of knowledge under his belt.  His favorite adjective is "beautiful", regarding your surgery, that is.    I felt well cared for in the best way possible.  I would highly recommend Kirk Eye Care to anyone needing to se an Ophthalmologist More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 19, 2022

I needed cataract surgery and was referred to Kirk Eye Center. Everyone at both the Gurnee office and the surgery center were fantastic. Like most people, I was very nervous about getting eye surgery done. The staff at Kirk Eye Center are very caring professionals and put me at ease about the surgery. Thanks to Dr. Tyler I can now see better than I ever did before. I highly recommend Kirk Eye Center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 03, 2022

I needed cataract surgery and was referred to Kirk Eye Center. Everyone at both the Gurnee office and the surgery center were fantastic. Like most people, I was very nervous about getting eye surgery done. The staff at Kirk Eye Center are very caring professionals and put me at ease about the surgery. Thanks to Dr. Tyler I can now see better than I ever did before. I highly recommend Kirk Eye Center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 02, 2022

I had cataract surgery about 2 weeks ago. I was nervous but they calmed me down and everything went great. Everyone was so nice and caring. My vision is great now and there was nothing to be nervous about. For me it was a painless procedure. I recommend Kirk Eye Center if you need vision care. I am happy with my results. Jan More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 28, 2021

I had cataract surgery at Kirk Eye Center. Dr Carter was my surgeon and for follow up I saw both Dr Kent and Dr Scott. I had a great experience not only with doctors but all the staff as well. They are all very friendly and professional. My experience exceeded all my expectations and my vision is better than it’s been since I was a child. I highly recommend Kirk Eye center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 06, 2021

I had cataract surgery on sept 9th and 23rd . For Professional, Quality, and Heart, THIS IS WHERE YOU WANT TO BE !!!! LOOK NO FURTHER, it Doesn't get any Better! Question: How Many KIRKS did GOD create and put in one location for your benefit and mine? To all the Doctors and the staff " YOUR THE BEST ". Thank You and God Bless You. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 03, 2021

Just finished having cataract surgery on both of my eyes at Kirk Eye Center and I can see again!! The staff and physicians at the eye and surgical center are wonderful. They are professional, clean, helpful, prompt, and best of all, kind. Thank you Dr. Tyler for giving me my sight back again! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 31, 2021

I have had cataract surgery in the past 3 weeks. My vision is remarkable! I want to thank those at River Forest location. Your care and compassion is over the top! So thank you Anna, Laura, and Cindy, and Suzanne at the front desk. Thank you to the great staff at the Gurnee location. You're wonderful! And of course thank you Dr. Tyler Kirk and Dr. Scott Kirk. I would and will highly recommend Kirk Eye Center to anyone inquiring. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 20, 2021

I had cataract surgery and lens replacement pre-Covid and just had second cataract surgery and lens replacement. Dr. Scott Kirk and his staff performed the surgeries in River Forest and all other appointments were in Gurnee. Dr. Scott is a wonderful surgeon. Both surgeries and lens replacements were extremely successful and I had absolutely no problems. The staff, doctors, nurses, medical assistants and all people working in both Gurnee and River Forest are professional, friendly, helpful and wonderful people. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND KIRK EYE CENTER TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR ANY EYE CARE! Blessings and thanks to all for my wonderful eyesight! Carol Bowen 😁 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 20, 2021

I had cataract surgery and lens replacement pre-Covid and just had second cataract surgery and lens replacement. Dr. Scott Kirk and his staff performed the surgeries in River Forest and all other appointments were in Gurnee. Dr. Scott is a wonderful surgeon. Both surgeries and lens replacements were extremely successful and I had absolutely no problems. The staff, doctors, nurses, medical assistants and all people working in both Gurnee and River Forest are professional, frie… See more More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 19, 2021

Submitting this on behalf of Paul Koko. Paul had surgery on both eyes by Dr. Scott Kirk. One eye was nearsighted and the other was far sighted. First procedure included an Antistigmatic Lens to correct the stigmatism in left eye and two weeks later had "regular" cataract surgery to right eye. Both are doing great. Uses inexpensive "reader" classes for fine print but does not need for general tasks. Everyone in Surgical Center was courteous, helpful and there was no pain at all. Total procedure took only about 18 minutes. Went home after short rest. We have been patients at Kirk Eye Center for more than 40 years and highly recommend their kind and excellent treatment. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 28, 2021

Submitting this on behalf of Paul Koko. Paul had surgery on both eyes by Dr. Scott Kirk. One eye was nearsighted and the other was far sighted. First procedure included an Antistigmatic Lens to correct the stigmatism in left eye and two weeks later had "regular" cataract surgery to right eye. Both are doing great. Uses inexpensive "reader" classes for fine print but does not need for general tasks. Everyone in Surgical Center was courteous, helpful and there was no pain at all. Total procedure took only about 18 minutes. Went home after short rest. We have been patients at Kirk Eye Center for more than 40 years and highly recommend their kind and excellent treatment. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 25, 2021

Both of my parents have had cataract surgery with Kirk Eye Center in Gurnee and they couldn’t be more pleased. The staff makes it easy and convenient, including a shuttle to the surgical center. Both of their vision improved dramatically, and painlessly. I would highly recommend Kirk Eye Center to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 08, 2021

Kirk Eye Center is a wonderful office with absolutely amazing doctors. I have had experiences with a lot of the office staff and most of the doctors that work here and they are as nice as they come. Having a surgery center connected to the main office building is extremely convenient for cataract surgery too! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Google  |  May 19, 2021

I can not say enough about Kirk Eye Center. Lovely office, kind and understanding staff. Dr. Carter is great.... patient, understanding and kind. The ladies at the front desk are always welcoming. Joyce is so helpful when scheduling surgery. The surgical staff is amazing. After years of putting off cataract surgery because of my own fears, they made the experience as seamless as possible. I highly, highly recommend this practice for any optical needs!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2021

I had cataract surgery at the Kirk Eye Center and I must say they are wonderful! Dr. Scott Kirk did a very good job. I'm very impressed with the care he provided and the staff there. I definitely give them 5+ stars. Tina Wesley More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2021

I knew that I had to go to the eye doctor, as my eyesight seemed to be getting worse and worse, and that it was quite possibly because of cataracts. Not being able to see up close is in my estimation, somewhat of a relative issue, but driving at night was becoming more difficult. Halos on headlights or any type of street light was soon going to be a limitation. I came to Dr. Kent Kirk because my former eye doctor had retired after many years and my files had been transferred to the Kirk Eye Center. I found Dr. Kent Kirk to be very professional and knowledgeable about the procedures that he would be doing on my eyes. He took me through the procedure step-by-step. I actually decided to have the cataract surgery performed on my left eye, just two days before my birthday. Though I was a bit apprehensive, I found that everything that was done, was exactly what had been outlined. One thing that I had learned prior to the surgery was that cataract surgery was first performed in about 1750 and I really figured that this surgery would go with no issue. Little did I know that the surgery would go way better than I could have imagined. I found that on the way home, I already could see more clearly, whether it was license plates on vehicle around me, street signs, or even brighter interior lights. My left eye was markedly improved. I came back the next day for the post-surgery follow-up and Dr. Kirk was quite pleased with his work, as was I. He did ask when I wanted to do the right eye and I immediately told him - asap! I was able to have the appointment for the right eye surgery, 13 days later. This time the cataract surgery went easily, as well as the first. The big difference was there was very little apprehension on my part. Again, I was amazed at how well my vision had improved on the way home. In fact, I don’t really know if I had ever seen as well as I do now. I had glasses from when I was first in grammar school, but I went away from glasses and in to contacts in about December of 1974. I was working as a rookie policeman and was assigned to a “bank robbery in progress” call. When I entered the bank, my glasses fogged up. Within days, I made the appointment for contacts. From December 1974, I never wore glasses again. Now with the cataract surgery done on both eyes, I find that I do not need glasses for distance, and, amazingly, I will only need reading glasses that are at the lower end of the prescription range and that depends on just how small the letters are. All things considered, this may have been one of the best choices that I have ever made. At my age, I can probably say that my knee replacement was good, but, you know, there is nothing like being able to see clearly. Dr. Kent Kirk and his staff, both at the normal visits and the two surgery visits were fantastic. They exhibited a great deal of professionalism and, I must say that I was quite impressed with just how routine they could make this surgery. If you are unsure, I say - go for it! And Dr. Kent Kirk is the right person for getting the job done right. More

5.0
Review from D.H  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Dec 08, 2020

My successful cataract surgery gave me great vision and increased abilities. The doctor and staff gave expert care during prep and surgery. Post-surgery follow-ups were clearly detailed. I recommend Kirk Eye Center for all-optical and surgery needs. Thank you for all your services, care, and concerns. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 29, 2020

I knew that I had to go to the eye doctor, as my eyesight seemed to be getting worse and worse, and that it was quite possibly because of cataracts. Not being able to see up close is in my estimation, somewhat of a relative issue, but driving at night was becoming more difficult. Halos on headlights or any type of street light was soon going to be a limitation. I came to Dr. Kent Kirk because my former eye doctor had retired after many years and my files had been transferred to the Kirk Eye Center. I found Dr. Kent Kirk to be very professional and knowledgeable about the procedures that he would be doing on my eyes. He took me through the procedure step-by-step. I actually decided to have the cataract surgery performed on my left eye, just two days before my birthday. Though I was a bit apprehensive, I found that everything that was done, was exactly what had been outlined. One thing that I had learned prior to the surgery was that cataract surgery was first performed in about 1750 and I really figured that this surgery would go with no issue. Little did I know that the surgery would go way better than I could have imagined. I found that on the way home, I already could see more clearly, whether it was license plates on vehicle around me, street signs, or even brighter interior lights. My left eye was markedly improved. I came back the next day for the post-surgery follow-up and Dr. Kirk was quite pleased with his work, as was I. He did ask when I wanted to do the right eye and I immediately told him - asap! I was able to have the appointment for the right eye surgery, 13 days later. This time the cataract surgery went easily, as well as the first. The big difference was there was very little apprehension on my part. Again, I was amazed at how well my vision had improved on the way home. In fact, I don’t really know if I had ever seen as well as I do now. I had glasses from when I was first in grammar school, but I went away from glasses and in to contacts in about December of 1974. I was working as a rookie policeman and was assigned to a “bank robbery in progress” call. When I entered the bank, my glasses fogged up. Within days, I made the appointment for contacts. From December 1974, I never wore glasses again. Now with the cataract surgery done on both eyes, I find that I do not need glasses for distance, and, amazingly, I will only need reading glasses that are at the lower end of the prescription range and that depends on just how small the letters are. All things considered, this may have been one of the best choices that I have ever made. At my age, I can probably say that my knee replacement was good, but, you know, there is nothing like being able to see clearly. Dr. Kent Kirk and his staff, both at the normal visits and the two surgery visits were fantastic. They exhibited a great deal of professionalism and, I must say that I was quite impressed with just how routine they could make this surgery. If you are unsure, I say - go for it! And Dr. Kent Kirk is the right person for getting the job done right. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 28, 2020

I knew that I had to go to the eye doctor, as my eyesight seemed to be getting worse and worse, and that it was quite possibly because of cataracts.  Not being able to see up close is in my estimation, somewhat of a relative issue, but driving at night was becoming more difficult.  Halos on headlights or any type of street light was soon going to be a limitation.I came to Dr. Kent Kirk because my former eye doctor had retired after many years and my files had been transferred to the Kirk Eye Center.  I found Dr. Kent Kirk to be very professional and knowledgeable about the procedures that he would be doing on my eyes.  He took me through the procedure step-by-step.  I actually decided to have the cataract surgery performed on my left eye, just two days before my birthday.  Though I was a bit apprehensive, I found that everything that was done, was exactly what had been outlined.  One thing that I had learned prior to the surgery was that cataract surgery was first performed in about 1750 and I really figured that this surgery would go with no issue.  Little did I know that the surgery would go way better than I could have imagined.  I found that on the way home, I already could see more clearly, whether it was license plates on vehicle around me, street signs, or even brighter interior lights. My left eye was markedly improved.  I came back the next day for the post-surgery follow-up and Dr. Kirk was quite pleased with his work, as was I.He did ask when I wanted to do the right eye and I immediately told him - asap!  I was able to have the appointment for the right eye surgery, 13 days later.  This time the cataract surgery went easily, as well as the first.  The big difference was there was very little apprehension on my part.  Again, I was amazed at how well my vision had improved on the way home.  In fact, I don’t really know if I had ever seen as well as I do now.I had glasses from when I was first in grammar school, but I went away from glasses and in to contacts in about December of 1974.  I was working as a rookie policeman and was assigned to a "bank robbery in progress" call.  When I entered the bank, my glasses fogged up.  Within days, I made the appointment for contacts.  From December 1974, I never wore glasses again.Now with the cataract surgery done on both eyes, I find that I do not need glasses for distance, and, amazingly, I will only need reading glasses that are at the lower end of the prescription range and that depends on just how small the letters are.All things considered, this may have been one of the best choices that I have ever made.  At my age, I can probably say that my knee replacement was good, but, you know, there is nothing like being able to see clearly.Dr. Kent Kirk and his staff, both at the normal visits and the two surgery visits were fantastic.  They exhibited a great deal of professionalism and, I must say that I was quite impressed with just how routine they could make this surgery.  If you are unsure, I say - go for it!  And Dr. Kent Kirk is the right person for getting the job done right. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 05, 2020

I have been wearing glasses and needing eye care all of my life. Several months ago my cataract was at the point that it needed to be treated. I learned of Kirk Eye Center from a friend who said that he had an excellent experience there. So I went and had cataract surgery. What a wonderful experience! Everyone at Kirk Eye Center is caring, patient, and professional from the front desk to the operating room. And there is a level of sincerity that you rarely find elsewhere. Every so often you meet someone who, after just a short time of conversation, you have complete confidence in. For me that was Dr. Scott Kirk. I am 73 and have been to many eye doctors. This was by far my best eye care experience ever. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2019

I just had cataract surgery. I highly recommend Kirk Eye Center! I cant praise Kirk Eye Center in Gurnee and NovaMed Center in River Forest enough!. Both are professional and do an amazing job at keeping you informed and relaxed regarding the procedure. They have the process down to a choreographed science.Every dept. and every person is professional, can answer any question, they take their time with you, but they don't waste it either. Dr. Scott Kirk is wonderful as well as Michelle in the Gurnee office. If you have been told you need cataract surgery took up Dr. Scott Kirk in Gurnee and River Forest- you wont be sorry. The day after my surgery my vision was 20-25 in my left eye- everything was bright and clear. Remarkable since the day before surgery, my left eye, I could barely see,everything was cloudy, like being in a fog. Yes....5 stars to Kirk Eye Center and Dr. Scott Kirk and team!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2019

I had the pleasure of interacting with Dr. Scott Kirk, Dr. Kent Kirk, and Dr. Carter Kirk while having cataract surgery and lens replacement. The result is down right exciting. After wearing glasses for decades, the “Kirks” sent me away with no glasses and excellent eyesight: near and far. The entire experience was professional, friendly, and well informed at each stage. The staff operated with calm competent reassurance. Trusting one’s eyesight to anyone is a big deal. The Kirks have my appreciation and trust. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2019

I had my cataract surgery and it went very well. Dr. KIRK and his entire staff were professional and caring. I highly recommend this clinic . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2018

I had the pleasure of interacting with Dr. Scott Kirk, Dr. Kent Kirk, and Dr. Carter Kirk while having cataract surgery and lens replacement. The result is down right exciting. After wearing glasses for decades, the “Kirks” sent me away with no glasses and excellent eyesight: near and far. The entire experience was professional, friendly, and well informed at each stage. The staff operated with calm competent reassurance. Trusting one’s eyesight to anyone is a big deal. The Kirks have my appreciation and trust. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 25, 2014

I recently went in to see if I could get Lasik.  I had perfect vision growing up and with age, I noticed my vision getting worse (Presbyopia).  First cheaters in my 40s and then monovision and then bifocal contacts and glasses.  Then I node my general vision was also declining.  At age 58, this was not how I wanted to continue.After an extensive exam, Dr. Kirk advised me that I wasn’t a "good candidate for Lasik" as he noted an early onset of cataracts. It was not immediately noticeable and there was no cloudiness.  Dr. Kirk told me the first clue, which resulted in a much more detailed exam was  that my prescription changed a full 2 diopters in one year and that was a sign of possible cataracts.  A less detailed exam might not have picked this up until they were more developed.  My vision would only continue to get worse and undo the good of the Laisik. While the cataracts would not become an issue for perhaps 15 years, I would need to stay in glasses or contacts and have worsening vision each year.  The proposed long-term solution would be to have cataract surgery and then have bifocal lenses implanted.  Considered elective surgery, it was costlier than Lasik, but it was a "lifetime" solution, meaning my vision would never worsen after the surgery.After independent research, I agreed and have had both eyes repaired.  I had the "Restore" IOLs implanted.  Their staff are all very helpful and I had all of my concerns addressed.  They did not make promises of perfect vision, only that I would see an great improvement.  This type of procedure also meant I would never develop cataracts.The eyes were done one at a time, two weeks apart.  The procedures were totally pain free.  I did decline any sedation, as I wanted to fully understand what was happening.  There was no need for it.  The  doctors (Scott for the first and Kent for the second) both made sure I understood everything that was going on.  The follow up care was excellent.The best way to describe the results are miraculous!  I now have 20/20 vision in both eyes and am totally free of any additional eyewear (including cheaters).  I also noticed that I no longer saw "floaters" which I had begun to see over the past year.  I have crystal clear vision and good not be happier. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

I read the reviews on the internet and selected Kirk Eye Center and what a great decision that was. My vision was getting cloudy and I decided it was time to get my eyes checked. I needed cataract surgery and Dr Kent Kirk performed that for me yesterday. The procedure took about 15 minutes and there was no pain during the entire procedure. I had zero side effects: no inflammation, no infection, no swelling, no bleeding, no glaucoma or retinal problems. As I write today online, I can read the computer screen better now than with my glasses. At my followup visit today Dr Kent Kirk told me that everything was so successful that I could start driving again. No restrictions. I couldn't be more pleased. Dr Kent Kirk is the "Michael Jordan" of ophthalmologists. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.K.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

I am a longtime patient of the Kirk Eye Center and am very gratified that I found them many years ago. From contacts to lasik surgery and most recently cataract surgery I have received the highest level of medical treatment and care. Every step of each procedure has been clearly detailed pre, during and after the treatments leaving me very comfortable with the level of understanding the doctors and staff provided me. Highly recommended. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

Recently had cataract surgery in March 2020 and it was overall the most Excellent service I could of ever hoped for. You were warmly welcomed, Each person introduced themselves to you and guided you along as to what was happening next, So very well organized and ran very smoothly. I was totally delighted in the service I received. I had total confidence in Dr. Kent Kirk and his surgical staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

Dr. Carter Kirk performed cataract surgery on both of my eyes. I knew the morning after the first surgery that it was successful. I could not wait to have the surgery on the second eye. No complications.. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

I had cataract surgery using multifocal lenses in both eyes. I can see without glasses for the first time in 20 years! Joyce facilitated setting up the surgery and let me know the cost up front so there were no surprises on the day of surgery. The nurses and nurse anesthetist listened to my concerns and helped me feel comfortable and at ease prior to the procedure. I had very little discomfort after the surgery. The follow up appointments were easy to make and reassured me that all was well with my recovery. I am one month out and am totally pleased with my outcome! I would highly recommend Kirk Eye Center! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

I had cataract surgery over a year ago, and I hesitated to write a review until I knew if there would be any future complications. And there were none! Cataract surgery was one of the best gifts I’ve ever given myself. For years I’ve struggled with reading glasses, and at age 73 my vision became more and more blurred, and everything just looked a bit foggier and gloomier. I assumed it was my age, but made an appointment with Dr. Kent Kirk to be on the safe side. He was very kind and easy to talk to, and after being tested, I was told I had cataracts, and he recommended the surgery. He also said I was a good candidate to have my vision corrected as well, although Medicare would only insure the basic surgery. I have a very tight budget in retirement, so it was not an easy decision. But I took the chance, put it on a credit card, and hoped for the best. I was very impressed with the expedient and systematic way in which the whole procedure was handled. There was no waiting around - when I came in, they were ready for me. There was no pain, no discomfort, and I was ready to go home in less than a half hour. On that very first day, I was amazed that I could see clearly, without glasses, and instead of the usual off-color cast over my entire environment, I saw more whites, more blues, less grays and browns. The recovery period lasted only a few days, and that too was painless - just a routine of eye drops for a period of time. I am now in my mid 70’s, and when I visit my 45 and 50 year old children, they’re reaching for their reading glasses every few minutes, and their mom has perfect vision! Nothing has deteriorated since then, and I would highly recommend this outstanding eye clinic. And I haven’t regretted for a moment my having to use a credit card to pay for it. Carol Strunc Westchester, IL More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

I just had cataract surgery. I highly recommend Kirk Eye Center! I cant praise Kirk Eye Center in Gurnee and NovaMed Center in River Forest enough!. Both are professional and do an amazing job at keeping you informed and relaxed regarding the procedure. They have the process down to a choreographed science.Every dept. and every person is professional, can answer any question, they take their time with you, but they don't waste it either. Dr. Scott Kirk is wonderful as well as Michelle in the Gurnee office. If you have been told you need cataract surgery took up Dr. Scott Kirk in Gurnee and River Forest- you wont be sorry. The day after my surgery my vision was 20-25 in my left eye- everything was bright and clear. Remarkable since the day before surgery, my left eye, I could barely see,everything was cloudy, like being in a fog. Yes....5 stars to Kirk Eye Center and Dr. Scott Kirk and team!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

I have been going to the Kirk Eye Center to take care of my eyes for many years. They have the best staff possible, they are caring and professional. I just had my second cataract surgery and ,as the first one, was uneventful due to the excellent service. I highly recommend the services provided by the Kirk Eye Center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

I recently had cataract surgery done by Dr Carter Kirk on both eyes and the results have been life changing. My vision is the best it has been in my entire life. I will get to see the golf ball done the fairway again. Dr Carter Kirk did a fantastic job as well as making me feel comfortable throughout both surgeries. I highly recommend Dr Kirk (Carter) there are a lot of Kirk's there. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.