New Location Now Open in Glen Ellyn!

Reviews for Eye Health Services Near River Forest, IL

The team at Kirk Eye Center is dedicated to providing a wide range of eye care services to meet your unique vision needs. We are a family-owned practice founded more than 50 years ago, currently spanning three generations of doctors. Over the years, many patients have trusted us to provide high-quality ophthalmology care in a safe and attentive environment. We invite you to take a look at our patient feedback to learn more about what you can expect when you visit us in River Forest or Gurnee, IL.

Filter44 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from M.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 31, 2022

Hi my experience with Dr. Tyler Kirk was very good he did both my eyes, first Cataracts removal then for my glaucoma he put in a stint to drain the fluid to keep my pressure down. I didnt have any problems. When I went back for my check up he asked me how is your vision now I told him it was so good that I could see what he was thinking. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 he had a good laugh after that so if you want a great Doctor visit the Kirk Eye Center you will see the world much clearer I promise. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 15, 2022

Friendly admin staff and knowledgeable medical personnel. Very understanding and thorough with med history and eye exams for various eye health issues. Helped with insurance red tape / pharmaceutical approval as well, which I have had issues with at other health providers in the past. Refreshing! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from L.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 13, 2022

I had refractive lens surgery to correct far sightedness and astigmatism at Kirk eye center, and have had a very good outcome. Scott Kirk performed the incision via laser surgery, and Kent placed the lens...I am very pleased and would recommend anyone interested in vision corrective surgery to consult with Drs. Kirk. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 12, 2021

We love the way the optical department takes care of their clients, especially Robin who is super friendly and accommodating. My family highly recommends Kirk Optical department for all of your eyewear needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.1.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 06, 2021

The optical department is always so helpful in picking out frames or in my last case I found frames that I loved and brought them in and they were able to order the lenses for me. I also love that you can come in and get adjustments as needed, which is great in my sons case where his glasses get bent out of shape during sports season. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 30, 2021

The Optical Shop was very helpful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 16, 2021

I found this to be a highly professional friendly place for eye Care I had a thorough eye examination including pressure test for glaucoma camera shots of the retina and vision capabilities we're tested as well. The doctor went over the results with me and gave me a complete understanding of my eye health and what I can anticipate in the upcoming years being a senior citizen. I love the legacy of the place I believe it was started by a grandfather and several relatives named Dr Kirk work there they appeared to have a very clean venue and their technology seem to be the latest I highly recommend this place to anyone that needs eye Care and you can get your prescription and buy glasses on site the same day More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 19, 2021

Fantastic experience ordering my daughter’s first pair of glasses from the optical shop. Dr. Kent discovered her astigmatism after a thorough exam. He has a great demeanor with kids and immediately put her at ease. Highly recommend ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 20, 2021

Fantastic experience ordering my daughter’s first pair of glasses from the optical shop. Dr. Kent discovered her astigmatism after a thorough exam. He has a great demeanor with kids and immediately put her at ease. Highly recommend ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.O.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 03, 2021

Love the Optical Center at Kirk Eye Center. Great service and personal attention. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.K.  |  Source: Google  |  May 19, 2021

I am extremely happy with my experience at Kirk eye center. The ladies in the optical center were is helpful as they could be, and all very friendly. I brought in a pair of surgical glasses which lens fell out of and the manufacturer would have taken a couple weeks minimum to return these to me. Due to my profession I cannot afford to go more than a couple days without them.the part that concerned me was that these lenses have to be lined up perfectly as they are very costly precision instruments. The staff spent well over an hour helping me with these and we finally we're able to get them back still working order and I am able to see out of them perfectly again. I am extremely impressed that the staff took the time and had the patience to work with me. From now on if I need anything Kirk eye center will definitely be my first go to choice. I thank you while you have a very friendly and outgoing staff there Cheryl Koby L.E. Licenced Electrologist More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 09, 2021

I am extremely happy with my experience at Kirk eye center. The ladies  in the optical center where is helpful as they could be in all very  friendly. I brought in a pair of surgical glasses where lens fell out  timer and the manufacturer would have taken a couple weeks minimum to  return these to me. Due to my profession I cannot afford to go more than  a couple days without them.the part that concerned me was that these  lenses have to be lined up perfectly as they are very costly precision  instruments. The staff spent well over an hour helping me with these and  we finally we’re able to get them back still working order and I am  able to see out of them perfectly again. I am extremely impressed that  the staff took the time and had the patience to work with me. From now  on if I need anything Kirk eye center will definitely be my first go to  choice. I thank you, you have a very friendly and outgoing staff!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.K.  |  Source: Google  |  May 06, 2021

I am extremely happy with my experience at Kirk eye center. The ladies in the optical center were is helpful as they could be, and all very friendly. I brought in a pair of surgical glasses which lens fell out of and the manufacturer would have taken a couple weeks minimum to return these to me. Due to my profession I cannot afford to go more than a couple days without them.the part that concerned me was that these lenses have to be lined up perfectly as they are very costly precision instruments. The staff spent well over an hour helping me with these and we finally we're able to get them back still working order and I am able to see out of them perfectly again. I am extremely impressed that the staff took the time and had the patience to work with me. From now on if I need anything Kirk eye center will definitely be my first go to choice. I thank you while you have a very friendly and outgoing staff there Cheryl Koby L.E. Licenced Electrologist More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 19, 2021

Kirk Eye Center really is the best. Everyone is so nice and friendly - especially the employees in the Optical Department; never in a hurry and always happy to chat. I got my first pair of contacts at Kirk Center when I was 19 years old (that was well over 30 years ago). I keep going back, because they truly are the best. I live an hour away and it's still worth the trip to go back every year for my eye exam (and contacts). More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 19, 2021

I had a problem with my contact today so I came over to the center to see Robin in the optical department. She is absolutely wonderful! Knowledgeable and friendly. She examined and decided that I should see dr carter. This was a first time with him and I was very pleased with both his knowledge and manner. A great place to come to when it comes to the health of your eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 26, 2021

Kirk Eye Center really is the best. Everyone is so nice and friendly - especially the employees in the Optical Department; never in a hurry and always happy to chat. I got my first pair of contacts at Kirk Center when I was 19 years old (that was well over 30 years ago). I keep going back, because they truly are the best. I live an hour away and it's still worth the trip to go back every year for my eye exam (and contacts). More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 26, 2021

I have always had a great experience with Kirk Eye Center. The optical center is wonderful. They have great options and the staff is extremely helpful. I couldn’t find a pair of frames that fit my small face and Mimi recognized immediately the issue. She ordered some frames into the shop and they were a perfect fit. I was thrilled. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 26, 2021

Dr. Kirk and staff are great! The moment you walk in you’re greeted by smiles and a friendly staff. The optical department is great and care on how you like your glasses. They’ll stay with you and give you opinions if you ask for it. Definitely an office worth coming to. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 25, 2021

I had a problem with my contact today so I came over to the center to see Robin in the optical department. She is absolutely wonderful! Knowledgeable and friendly. She examined and decided that I should see dr carter. This was a first time with him and I was very pleased with both his knowledge and manner. A great place to come to when it comes to the health of your eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2021

I went in for a routine eye exam and had a great experience. Dr Bauer was super personable and thorough. He explained everything and answered all of my questions, even the ones I asked twice :). More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 25, 2021

Kirk Eye Center is an excellent practice filled with extremely attentive and caring ophthalmologists and staff who provide a welcoming experience for eye exams. The staff was very efficient and I never felt like I was lost in the crowd. Dr. Kirk was amazing and thorough and really took the time to listen to my concerns. I've finally found a place to go to for my routine eye care! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 26, 2020

I had chalazion incision and curettage done by Dr. Kent Kirk. He was kind, explained the procedure thoroughly and performed it very gently. Staff of Kirk Eye Center was very professional and pleasant. I highly recommend Dr. Kent Kirk and Kirk Eye Center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.D.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 11, 2020

Best place to go for eye check up and glasses. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.D.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 11, 2020

Best place to go for eye check up and glasses. Thank you We appreciate the kind words. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.D.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 11, 2020

Best place to go for eye check up and glasses. Hey Russ can you send me a friend request so we can be friends if you don’t mind .?? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 25, 2020

I went in for a routine eye exam and had a great experience. Dr Bauer was super personable and thorough. He explained everything and answered all of my questions, even the ones I asked twice :). More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2020

I have been a Kirk patient for 15 years. This was my second operation with Dr. Scott Kirk. The cataract removal and laser vision correction was painless and efficiently performed. All personnel were courteous and careful. I recommend Kirk Eye Center to all of my friends. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 01, 2019

I love my new Silhouette Eyeglasses, and my new Maui Jim prescription sunglasses.  They make me feel like a million bucks.  The optical manager, Robin, was very helpful in helping me with my selection, measuring, and follow up.  Kirk Eye Center used a prescription I received from a different optical center.  I’ll be going straight to Kirk Eye Center next year. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 01, 2019

I love my new Silhouette Eyeglasses, and my new Maui Jim prescription sunglasses.  They make me feel like a million bucks.  The optical manager, Robin, was very helpful in helping me with my selection, measuring, and follow up.  Kirk Eye Center used a prescription I received from a different optical center.  I'll be going straight to Kirk Eye Center next year. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Jun 06, 2019

Dr. Bauer is great. The staff there is all very friendly and good at their jobs, but the wait is looooooong. I waited 20 minutes before being seen by a tech for the eye exam and then 45 minutes from the time I was seated in that waiting area until I was seen by Dr. Bauer. It just seems excessive to be there for an hour and a half.read more More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Google  |  May 28, 2019

I had a very pleasant experience at the Kirk Eye Center. I had LASIK to correct very poor vision in both eyes and an astigmatism. Dr. Kirk was professional and did not push me into the surgery before he thought I was ready and a viable candidate. As a diabetic, there were further concerns/considerations with the procedure that Dr. Kirk was very aware of. I saw him over the course of a year before he decided it was the right time to do the surgery. Over that year, the office staff regularly checked in with me. My recovery from the surgery was easy and painless. Definitely recommend visiting the Kirk Eye Center if you are considering LASIK! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  May 28, 2019

Dr. Bauer is great. The staff there is all very friendly and good at their jobs, but the wait is looooooong. I waited 20 minutes before being seen by a tech for the eye exam and then 45 minutes from the time I was seated in that waiting area until I was seen by Dr. Bauer. It just seems excessive to be there for an hour and a half. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.K.  |  Source: Google  |  May 28, 2018

Kirk Eye Center provides caring, thoughtful, and skilled eye care for patients of all ages. The convenience of having the doctor's office, the surgery center, and the optical shop in one location is priceless. I have personally been a patient for over 50 years and would highly recommend this practice! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2018

Kirk Eye Center provides caring, thoughtful, and skilled eye care for patients of all ages. The convenience of having the doctor's office, the surgery center, and the optical shop in one location is priceless. I have personally been a patient for over 50 years and would highly recommend this practice! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.I.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 17, 2017

I transferred to this practice a year ago to have my regular eye exams for a medical reason I had a long time ago. After having a horrible experience at my previous clinic, Chicago Eye Institute, I was really impressed by the efficient and friendly service ar the Kirk eye clinic. I've been seeing only Dr. Scott Kirk, who comes across as an intelligent, considerate, and a friendly physician. I would definitely recommend this place to future patients. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.I.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 17, 2017

I transferred to this practice a year ago to have my regular eye exams for a medical reason I had a long time ago. After having a horrible experience at my previous clinic, Chicago Eye Institute, I was really impressed by the efficient and friendly service ar the Kirk eye clinic. I’ve been seeing only Dr. Scott Kirk, who comes across as an intelligent, considerate, and a friendly physician. I would definitely recommend this place to future patients. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Mar 25, 2017

In 2015 I had ebb flow procedure done I have sjogrens auto immune disease causing extreme dry eyes this procedure has helped very well More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 25, 2014

I recently went in to see if I could get Lasik.  I had perfect vision growing up and with age, I noticed my vision getting worse (Presbyopia).  First cheaters in my 40s and then monovision and then bifocal contacts and glasses.  Then I node my general vision was also declining.  At age 58, this was not how I wanted to continue.After an extensive exam, Dr. Kirk advised me that I wasn’t a "good candidate for Lasik" as he noted an early onset of cataracts. It was not immediately noticeable and there was no cloudiness.  Dr. Kirk told me the first clue, which resulted in a much more detailed exam was  that my prescription changed a full 2 diopters in one year and that was a sign of possible cataracts.  A less detailed exam might not have picked this up until they were more developed.  My vision would only continue to get worse and undo the good of the Laisik. While the cataracts would not become an issue for perhaps 15 years, I would need to stay in glasses or contacts and have worsening vision each year.  The proposed long-term solution would be to have cataract surgery and then have bifocal lenses implanted.  Considered elective surgery, it was costlier than Lasik, but it was a "lifetime" solution, meaning my vision would never worsen after the surgery.After independent research, I agreed and have had both eyes repaired.  I had the "Restore" IOLs implanted.  Their staff are all very helpful and I had all of my concerns addressed.  They did not make promises of perfect vision, only that I would see an great improvement.  This type of procedure also meant I would never develop cataracts.The eyes were done one at a time, two weeks apart.  The procedures were totally pain free.  I did decline any sedation, as I wanted to fully understand what was happening.  There was no need for it.  The  doctors (Scott for the first and Kent for the second) both made sure I understood everything that was going on.  The follow up care was excellent.The best way to describe the results are miraculous!  I now have 20/20 vision in both eyes and am totally free of any additional eyewear (including cheaters).  I also noticed that I no longer saw "floaters" which I had begun to see over the past year.  I have crystal clear vision and good not be happier. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 14, 2013

Recently, my husband and I had eye exams at Kirk Eye Center. Everyone was just wonderful and supportive.  As well, we certainly enjoyed the warm and friendly reception at the front desk and from Judy and the incredible attention, time and detail that Mimi the optician and her colleagues showed us. We ordered our glasses from the Optician Center as well. Great group. Patti Cone More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 14, 2013

Recently, my husband and I had eye exams at Kirk Eye Center. Everyone was just wonderful and supportive.  As well, we certainly enjoyed the warm and friendly reception at the front desk and from Judy and the incredible attention, time and detail that Mimi the optician and her colleagues showed us. We ordered our glasses from the Optician Center as well. Great group.Patti Cone More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

I read the reviews on the internet and selected Kirk Eye Center and what a great decision that was. My vision was getting cloudy and I decided it was time to get my eyes checked. I needed cataract surgery and Dr Kent Kirk performed that for me yesterday. The procedure took about 15 minutes and there was no pain during the entire procedure. I had zero side effects: no inflammation, no infection, no swelling, no bleeding, no glaucoma or retinal problems. As I write today online, I can read the computer screen better now than with my glasses. At my followup visit today Dr Kent Kirk told me that everything was so successful that I could start driving again. No restrictions. I couldn't be more pleased. Dr Kent Kirk is the "Michael Jordan" of ophthalmologists. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

I brought my elderly mother to consult with the optical department regarding a new pair of bifocals. Robin was amazing! She was incredibly patient and kind. She went above and beyond what I would expect her to do, all the while showing respect for my mother, even though her particular situation was a challenging one. Robin made our day! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

I am so happy with all the doctors at Kirk Eye Center. 15 years ago I had LASIK eye surgery and to this day I have 20/20. I return every year for my annual eye exam. And I am always pleased at how wonderful the whole staff is at Kirk Eye Center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

Thorough eye exams and wide range of frames. our family has gone to them for years! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.