New Location Now Open in Glen Ellyn!

Reviews for Traditional Cataract Surgery Services in River Forest, IL

The team at Kirk Eye Center is dedicated to providing a wide range of eye care services to meet your unique vision needs. We are a family-owned practice founded more than 50 years ago, currently spanning three generations of doctors. Over the years, many patients have trusted us to provide high-quality ophthalmology care in a safe and attentive environment. We invite you to take a look at our patient feedback to learn more about what you can expect when you visit us in River Forest or Gurnee, IL.

Filter31 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 26, 2023

Easy parking and an accomadating Friendly staff. I was fully informed of what was being done . I have complete confidence in the staff and the physician . I trust Dr Kent Kirk with my eyes . I had lasik more than 20 years ago with Dr Kent Kirk and I could not be more pleased . I didn’t look forward to cataracts . It stinks getting old but I’m glad I have such good people to take care of me . I had cataract surgery October 18th 2023 It was so easy I’m mad I didn’t do it sooner. It’s one week and vision is 20/20 . No pain Eye drops but no oral medication. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 06, 2023

I had cataract surgery a few months ago at the Kirk Eye Center. Dr. Kent Kirk was fantastic. He listened to all of my concerns and made me feel very comfortable. The staff was also very professional.  I would highly recommend them for all your eye care needs.. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.L.  |  Source: Google  |  May 20, 2023

Seeing better! Who would believe the colors after cataract surgery would be so vibrant? First the left eye, then the right eye was the plan. Well, it was very easy to understand the importance of great eye care after I covered my left eye (with my hand) , looked at an object and for many years thought it was burgundy, but, in fact it was purple. Well, this is just my example of how surprised I was to see the brightness and clarity around me. Thank you to the great surgical expertise of Dr. Kent Kirk, Dr. Scott Kirk and all the Docs snd Staff at the Kirk Eye & Surgical Center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 26, 2023

I needed cataract surgery and am So glad I came to Kirk. So efficient and what a friendly staff! They make sure you understand everything your treatment will encompass. I HIGHLY recommend them! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 10, 2023

Excellent pre- and post-operative care. Doctors Kirk both were thorough in their exams as well concise explanations of process, procedures and care for cataract surgery as well as Lasix surgery. Support staff caring. comforting and competent. Top-notch team. Highly recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.Z.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 21, 2023

I recently had cataracts removed & trifocal lenses put in on Dec. 20, 2022 & 3 weeks later, Jan. 10, 2023. I couldn't be happier with the surgery (it was quick & painless) and the results (my vision is now 20/20 with colors being brighter & images being sharp & clear. It no longer looks like I'm looking through wax paper) I do not have to wear glasses for distance or reading anymore. I had my favorite frames turned into UV-polarized sunglasses! Kirk Eye Center is the best! The Surgical center in River Forest fulfilled all my needs. The staff was accommodating, pleasant, & right on task, explaining what was being done for every step along the way. I was comfortable & relaxed. The doctor, Carter Kirk was very professional, knowledgeable, explained each step, and made sure I was fine at every step of the surgery. You could tell her is an expert at his job. The Gurnee office, for pre-op & follow up appointments, also has a great staff that is welcoming, knowledgeable, friendly, & keeps things moving. I would highly recommend the Kirk Eye Center for anyone contemplating cataract surgery. You will be so happy with your clear sight & you will be happy with the doctors & staff there. Thank you Kirk Eye Center! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 22, 2022

Although I am fairly young, for some reason my eyes started to develop cataracts. Getting to a point when driving my car became a dangerous adventure, after a thorough search on internet I have opted for cataract surgery at Kirk Eye Center. I wasn’t disappointed, everything there was top notch! Starting from the receptionists to the nurses, I was always treated in a very professional and courteous manner. Many thanks to Ms Joyce Wolter, the surgery manager who helped me going through all the paperwork and dealed with my insurance! She made everything look easy to me! All my life since childhood I’ve had poor vision but now after my right eye surgery I have 20/20 vision! It feels like I am reborn, all these vibrant colors and multitude of details I have never been aware before! Thank you from the bottom of my heart, Dr Scott Kirk! You gave me the best gift! We all take for granted the vision and we realize that only after we lose it! Note: I have opted for premium IOL’s, I wanted for my eyes the best I can get. They are quite expensive and not covered by insurance, but I can personally state that they worth every penny! I cannot wait for the left eye surgery a week from today! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 13, 2022

Dr Kent Kirk and the entire staff are amazing.They are caring, well organized and I had a fantastic resultMy sight in my right eye went from just barely being able to see the big E on the eye chart to 20/25 visionJust incredible!!!Thank you Dr Kent Kirk and staff I could not be happier Getting ready to do my second cataract surgery and I would NOT use anyone else but Kirk Eye Care!!!They know what they are doing and do eye care extremely well!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 30, 2022

I had cataract surgery on my right eye October 26th 2021 and then on April 26th 2022 I had surgery on my other eye for cataracts. Both eye surgeries were to correct my long distance vision. And it wound up correcting both visions. I was supposed to have only reading glasses after both surgeries but as a result I no longer need glasses for either. I couldn't be happier Dr Carter Kirk and his family did wonders I highly recommend them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 03, 2022

I am so happy with the results of my first cataract surgery that I have already scheduled the one in my right eye. Everyone at Kirk is professional, compassionate, and wonderful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 19, 2022

I had a cataract that needed removing for quite some time. I made an appointment for late December 2021. It is late January 2022 and I have had cataract surgery on both eyes. I cannot tell you how pleased I am with my entire experience at Kirk Eye Center. All of the helpers are super nice and proficient. My doctor was Dr. Kent Kirk and I am so pleased with the experience of his care. His 'favorite' word is beautiful regarding the healing process. Too cute and very encouraging. The surgeries themselves went super well, fast and efficiently. I can actually read without glasses for the first time in 60 years. I am totally satisfied with my entire experience at Kirk Eye Care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2022

Dr Scarpulla and team are very thorough and professional. They explain everything in an understandable way and walk you through the entire process. I am very happy with the cataract surgery performed 3 years ago and am going to have my other eye done by Dr Scarpulla in the next few weeks. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 30, 2022

I had a cataract that needed removing for quite some time. I made an appointment for late December 2021. It is late January 2022 and I have had cataract surgery on both eyes. I cannot tell you how pleased I am with my entire experience at Kirk Eye Center. All of the helpers are super nice and proficient. My doctor was Dr. Kent Kirk and I am so pleased with the experience of his care. His 'favorite' word is beautiful regarding the healing process. Too cute and very encouraging. The surgeries themselves went super well, fast and efficiently. I can actually read without glasses for the first time in 60 years. I am totally satisfied with my entire experience at Kirk Eye Care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 29, 2022

I had a cataract in my left eye that was really bothering me.  I made an appointment to see Dr. Kent Kirk in late December 2021.  I can’t tell you how happy I am with the "entire" experience at Kirk Eye Care.  It is now late January 2022 and I have had cataract surgery on both eyes.  I am wowed at the difference in my vision. I can read without glasses for the first time in 60 years.  All of the staff at Kirk are wonderful helpful folk.  The whole process ran so smoothly, I am amazed.  Dr Kent is friendly with a wealth of knowledge under his belt.  His favorite adjective is "beautiful", regarding your surgery, that is.    I felt well cared for in the best way possible.  I would highly recommend Kirk Eye Care to anyone needing to se an Ophthalmologist More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 02, 2022

I had cataract surgery about 2 weeks ago. I was nervous but they calmed me down and everything went great. Everyone was so nice and caring. My vision is great now and there was nothing to be nervous about. For me it was a painless procedure. I recommend Kirk Eye Center if you need vision care. I am happy with my results. Jan More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 28, 2021

I had cataract surgery at Kirk Eye Center. Dr Carter was my surgeon and for follow up I saw both Dr Kent and Dr Scott. I had a great experience not only with doctors but all the staff as well. They are all very friendly and professional. My experience exceeded all my expectations and my vision is better than it’s been since I was a child. I highly recommend Kirk Eye center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 31, 2021

I have had cataract surgery in the past 3 weeks. My vision is remarkable! I want to thank those at River Forest location. Your care and compassion is over the top! So thank you Anna, Laura, and Cindy, and Suzanne at the front desk. Thank you to the great staff at the Gurnee location. You're wonderful! And of course thank you Dr. Tyler Kirk and Dr. Scott Kirk. I would and will highly recommend Kirk Eye Center to anyone inquiring. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 19, 2021

Submitting this on behalf of Paul Koko. Paul had surgery on both eyes by Dr. Scott Kirk. One eye was nearsighted and the other was far sighted. First procedure included an Antistigmatic Lens to correct the stigmatism in left eye and two weeks later had "regular" cataract surgery to right eye. Both are doing great. Uses inexpensive "reader" classes for fine print but does not need for general tasks. Everyone in Surgical Center was courteous, helpful and there was no pain at all. Total procedure took only about 18 minutes. Went home after short rest. We have been patients at Kirk Eye Center for more than 40 years and highly recommend their kind and excellent treatment. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 28, 2021

Submitting this on behalf of Paul Koko. Paul had surgery on both eyes by Dr. Scott Kirk. One eye was nearsighted and the other was far sighted. First procedure included an Antistigmatic Lens to correct the stigmatism in left eye and two weeks later had "regular" cataract surgery to right eye. Both are doing great. Uses inexpensive "reader" classes for fine print but does not need for general tasks. Everyone in Surgical Center was courteous, helpful and there was no pain at all. Total procedure took only about 18 minutes. Went home after short rest. We have been patients at Kirk Eye Center for more than 40 years and highly recommend their kind and excellent treatment. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 08, 2021

Kirk Eye Center is a wonderful office with absolutely amazing doctors. I have had experiences with a lot of the office staff and most of the doctors that work here and they are as nice as they come. Having a surgery center connected to the main office building is extremely convenient for cataract surgery too! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Google  |  May 19, 2021

I can not say enough about Kirk Eye Center. Lovely office, kind and understanding staff. Dr. Carter is great.... patient, understanding and kind. The ladies at the front desk are always welcoming. Joyce is so helpful when scheduling surgery. The surgical staff is amazing. After years of putting off cataract surgery because of my own fears, they made the experience as seamless as possible. I highly, highly recommend this practice for any optical needs!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2021

I had cataract surgery at the Kirk Eye Center and I must say they are wonderful! Dr. Scott Kirk did a very good job. I'm very impressed with the care he provided and the staff there. I definitely give them 5+ stars. Tina Wesley More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2021

I knew that I had to go to the eye doctor, as my eyesight seemed to be getting worse and worse, and that it was quite possibly because of cataracts. Not being able to see up close is in my estimation, somewhat of a relative issue, but driving at night was becoming more difficult. Halos on headlights or any type of street light was soon going to be a limitation. I came to Dr. Kent Kirk because my former eye doctor had retired after many years and my files had been transferred to the Kirk Eye Center. I found Dr. Kent Kirk to be very professional and knowledgeable about the procedures that he would be doing on my eyes. He took me through the procedure step-by-step. I actually decided to have the cataract surgery performed on my left eye, just two days before my birthday. Though I was a bit apprehensive, I found that everything that was done, was exactly what had been outlined. One thing that I had learned prior to the surgery was that cataract surgery was first performed in about 1750 and I really figured that this surgery would go with no issue. Little did I know that the surgery would go way better than I could have imagined. I found that on the way home, I already could see more clearly, whether it was license plates on vehicle around me, street signs, or even brighter interior lights. My left eye was markedly improved. I came back the next day for the post-surgery follow-up and Dr. Kirk was quite pleased with his work, as was I. He did ask when I wanted to do the right eye and I immediately told him - asap! I was able to have the appointment for the right eye surgery, 13 days later. This time the cataract surgery went easily, as well as the first. The big difference was there was very little apprehension on my part. Again, I was amazed at how well my vision had improved on the way home. In fact, I don’t really know if I had ever seen as well as I do now. I had glasses from when I was first in grammar school, but I went away from glasses and in to contacts in about December of 1974. I was working as a rookie policeman and was assigned to a “bank robbery in progress” call. When I entered the bank, my glasses fogged up. Within days, I made the appointment for contacts. From December 1974, I never wore glasses again. Now with the cataract surgery done on both eyes, I find that I do not need glasses for distance, and, amazingly, I will only need reading glasses that are at the lower end of the prescription range and that depends on just how small the letters are. All things considered, this may have been one of the best choices that I have ever made. At my age, I can probably say that my knee replacement was good, but, you know, there is nothing like being able to see clearly. Dr. Kent Kirk and his staff, both at the normal visits and the two surgery visits were fantastic. They exhibited a great deal of professionalism and, I must say that I was quite impressed with just how routine they could make this surgery. If you are unsure, I say - go for it! And Dr. Kent Kirk is the right person for getting the job done right. More

5.0
Review from D.H  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Dec 08, 2020

My successful cataract surgery gave me great vision and increased abilities. The doctor and staff gave expert care during prep and surgery. Post-surgery follow-ups were clearly detailed. I recommend Kirk Eye Center for all-optical and surgery needs. Thank you for all your services, care, and concerns. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 29, 2020

I knew that I had to go to the eye doctor, as my eyesight seemed to be getting worse and worse, and that it was quite possibly because of cataracts. Not being able to see up close is in my estimation, somewhat of a relative issue, but driving at night was becoming more difficult. Halos on headlights or any type of street light was soon going to be a limitation. I came to Dr. Kent Kirk because my former eye doctor had retired after many years and my files had been transferred to the Kirk Eye Center. I found Dr. Kent Kirk to be very professional and knowledgeable about the procedures that he would be doing on my eyes. He took me through the procedure step-by-step. I actually decided to have the cataract surgery performed on my left eye, just two days before my birthday. Though I was a bit apprehensive, I found that everything that was done, was exactly what had been outlined. One thing that I had learned prior to the surgery was that cataract surgery was first performed in about 1750 and I really figured that this surgery would go with no issue. Little did I know that the surgery would go way better than I could have imagined. I found that on the way home, I already could see more clearly, whether it was license plates on vehicle around me, street signs, or even brighter interior lights. My left eye was markedly improved. I came back the next day for the post-surgery follow-up and Dr. Kirk was quite pleased with his work, as was I. He did ask when I wanted to do the right eye and I immediately told him - asap! I was able to have the appointment for the right eye surgery, 13 days later. This time the cataract surgery went easily, as well as the first. The big difference was there was very little apprehension on my part. Again, I was amazed at how well my vision had improved on the way home. In fact, I don’t really know if I had ever seen as well as I do now. I had glasses from when I was first in grammar school, but I went away from glasses and in to contacts in about December of 1974. I was working as a rookie policeman and was assigned to a “bank robbery in progress” call. When I entered the bank, my glasses fogged up. Within days, I made the appointment for contacts. From December 1974, I never wore glasses again. Now with the cataract surgery done on both eyes, I find that I do not need glasses for distance, and, amazingly, I will only need reading glasses that are at the lower end of the prescription range and that depends on just how small the letters are. All things considered, this may have been one of the best choices that I have ever made. At my age, I can probably say that my knee replacement was good, but, you know, there is nothing like being able to see clearly. Dr. Kent Kirk and his staff, both at the normal visits and the two surgery visits were fantastic. They exhibited a great deal of professionalism and, I must say that I was quite impressed with just how routine they could make this surgery. If you are unsure, I say - go for it! And Dr. Kent Kirk is the right person for getting the job done right. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 28, 2020

I knew that I had to go to the eye doctor, as my eyesight seemed to be getting worse and worse, and that it was quite possibly because of cataracts.  Not being able to see up close is in my estimation, somewhat of a relative issue, but driving at night was becoming more difficult.  Halos on headlights or any type of street light was soon going to be a limitation.I came to Dr. Kent Kirk because my former eye doctor had retired after many years and my files had been transferred to the Kirk Eye Center.  I found Dr. Kent Kirk to be very professional and knowledgeable about the procedures that he would be doing on my eyes.  He took me through the procedure step-by-step.  I actually decided to have the cataract surgery performed on my left eye, just two days before my birthday.  Though I was a bit apprehensive, I found that everything that was done, was exactly what had been outlined.  One thing that I had learned prior to the surgery was that cataract surgery was first performed in about 1750 and I really figured that this surgery would go with no issue.  Little did I know that the surgery would go way better than I could have imagined.  I found that on the way home, I already could see more clearly, whether it was license plates on vehicle around me, street signs, or even brighter interior lights. My left eye was markedly improved.  I came back the next day for the post-surgery follow-up and Dr. Kirk was quite pleased with his work, as was I.He did ask when I wanted to do the right eye and I immediately told him - asap!  I was able to have the appointment for the right eye surgery, 13 days later.  This time the cataract surgery went easily, as well as the first.  The big difference was there was very little apprehension on my part.  Again, I was amazed at how well my vision had improved on the way home.  In fact, I don’t really know if I had ever seen as well as I do now.I had glasses from when I was first in grammar school, but I went away from glasses and in to contacts in about December of 1974.  I was working as a rookie policeman and was assigned to a "bank robbery in progress" call.  When I entered the bank, my glasses fogged up.  Within days, I made the appointment for contacts.  From December 1974, I never wore glasses again.Now with the cataract surgery done on both eyes, I find that I do not need glasses for distance, and, amazingly, I will only need reading glasses that are at the lower end of the prescription range and that depends on just how small the letters are.All things considered, this may have been one of the best choices that I have ever made.  At my age, I can probably say that my knee replacement was good, but, you know, there is nothing like being able to see clearly.Dr. Kent Kirk and his staff, both at the normal visits and the two surgery visits were fantastic.  They exhibited a great deal of professionalism and, I must say that I was quite impressed with just how routine they could make this surgery.  If you are unsure, I say - go for it!  And Dr. Kent Kirk is the right person for getting the job done right. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 05, 2020

I have been wearing glasses and needing eye care all of my life. Several months ago my cataract was at the point that it needed to be treated. I learned of Kirk Eye Center from a friend who said that he had an excellent experience there. So I went and had cataract surgery. What a wonderful experience! Everyone at Kirk Eye Center is caring, patient, and professional from the front desk to the operating room. And there is a level of sincerity that you rarely find elsewhere. Every so often you meet someone who, after just a short time of conversation, you have complete confidence in. For me that was Dr. Scott Kirk. I am 73 and have been to many eye doctors. This was by far my best eye care experience ever. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2020

Everyone here is so nice and considerate. I am thrilled with my cataract surgery. Everything went well and my vision is amazing! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2019

I had the pleasure of interacting with Dr. Scott Kirk, Dr. Kent Kirk, and Dr. Carter Kirk while having cataract surgery and lens replacement. The result is down right exciting. After wearing glasses for decades, the “Kirks” sent me away with no glasses and excellent eyesight: near and far. The entire experience was professional, friendly, and well informed at each stage. The staff operated with calm competent reassurance. Trusting one’s eyesight to anyone is a big deal. The Kirks have my appreciation and trust. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2018

I had the pleasure of interacting with Dr. Scott Kirk, Dr. Kent Kirk, and Dr. Carter Kirk while having cataract surgery and lens replacement. The result is down right exciting. After wearing glasses for decades, the “Kirks” sent me away with no glasses and excellent eyesight: near and far. The entire experience was professional, friendly, and well informed at each stage. The staff operated with calm competent reassurance. Trusting one’s eyesight to anyone is a big deal. The Kirks have my appreciation and trust. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 25, 2014

I recently went in to see if I could get Lasik.  I had perfect vision growing up and with age, I noticed my vision getting worse (Presbyopia).  First cheaters in my 40s and then monovision and then bifocal contacts and glasses.  Then I node my general vision was also declining.  At age 58, this was not how I wanted to continue.After an extensive exam, Dr. Kirk advised me that I wasn’t a "good candidate for Lasik" as he noted an early onset of cataracts. It was not immediately noticeable and there was no cloudiness.  Dr. Kirk told me the first clue, which resulted in a much more detailed exam was  that my prescription changed a full 2 diopters in one year and that was a sign of possible cataracts.  A less detailed exam might not have picked this up until they were more developed.  My vision would only continue to get worse and undo the good of the Laisik. While the cataracts would not become an issue for perhaps 15 years, I would need to stay in glasses or contacts and have worsening vision each year.  The proposed long-term solution would be to have cataract surgery and then have bifocal lenses implanted.  Considered elective surgery, it was costlier than Lasik, but it was a "lifetime" solution, meaning my vision would never worsen after the surgery.After independent research, I agreed and have had both eyes repaired.  I had the "Restore" IOLs implanted.  Their staff are all very helpful and I had all of my concerns addressed.  They did not make promises of perfect vision, only that I would see an great improvement.  This type of procedure also meant I would never develop cataracts.The eyes were done one at a time, two weeks apart.  The procedures were totally pain free.  I did decline any sedation, as I wanted to fully understand what was happening.  There was no need for it.  The  doctors (Scott for the first and Kent for the second) both made sure I understood everything that was going on.  The follow up care was excellent.The best way to describe the results are miraculous!  I now have 20/20 vision in both eyes and am totally free of any additional eyewear (including cheaters).  I also noticed that I no longer saw "floaters" which I had begun to see over the past year.  I have crystal clear vision and good not be happier. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.