New Location Now Open in Glen Ellyn!

Reviews for Kirk Eye Center

The team at Kirk Eye Center is dedicated to providing a wide range of eye care services to meet your unique vision needs. We are a family-owned practice founded more than 50 years ago, currently spanning three generations of doctors. Over the years, many patients have trusted us to provide high-quality ophthalmology care in a safe and attentive environment. We invite you to take a look at our patient feedback to learn more about what you can expect when you visit us in River Forest or Gurnee, IL.

Filter93 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from I.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 13, 2022

Dr Kent Kirk and the entire staff are amazing.They are caring, well organized and I had a fantastic resultMy sight in my right eye went from just barely being able to see the big E on the eye chart to 20/25 visionJust incredible!!!Thank you Dr Kent Kirk and staff I could not be happier Getting ready to do my second cataract surgery and I would NOT use anyone else but Kirk Eye Care!!!They know what they are doing and do eye care extremely well!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 02, 2022

I don’t think words can express the gratitude I feel towards Dr. Kirk and his incredible office and surgical staff for all that they did for me. I had ICL surgery done last month and it has been life changing.  Dr. Kirk was informative, helpful and answered every single question I had before and after surgery.  The timing of my recovery overlapped with some personal plans, and Dr. Kirk and his staff went out of their way to still schedule my first few appointments on days and/or times that they don’t normally schedule patients in order to ensure that everything looked and felt good after the procedure. I couldn’t believe how kind and thoughtful they all were. Not only am I still in awe of having perfect vision again, I will forever be grateful to Kirk Eye Center for everything they did for me. I highly recommend Dr. Kirk and the ICL surgery! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 11, 2022

Just had LASIK surgery on both eyes.  Dr. Kent Kirk and his entire staff were amazing!  True angels.  Joyce the LASIK coordinator is awesome.  She talked me through everything from financing to post op instructions.  Dr. Kent talked me thru the whole procedure and even gave his cell number in case of any concerns.  Chad along with the other nurses were incredible.  The only staff I had a terrible encounter with was Susana at the surgical center on the phone and in person.  She can’t handle working with clients.  Other than Susana. Kirk Eye Center is the place to go for all optical needs, especially LASIK surgery. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from L.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 13, 2022

I had refractive lens surgery to correct far sightedness and astigmatism at Kirk eye center, and have had a very good outcome. Scott Kirk performed the incision via laser surgery, and Kent placed the lens...I am very pleased and would recommend anyone interested in vision corrective surgery to consult with Drs. Kirk. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 27, 2022

First class optical care.  The best you can find.  First Lipiflow machine in all Chicago. Especially love the dry care and top grade surgical team!Peggy Shearer More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 29, 2022

I had a cataract in my left eye that was really bothering me.  I made an appointment to see Dr. Kent Kirk in late December 2021.  I can’t tell you how happy I am with the "entire" experience at Kirk Eye Care.  It is now late January 2022 and I have had cataract surgery on both eyes.  I am wowed at the difference in my vision. I can read without glasses for the first time in 60 years.  All of the staff at Kirk are wonderful helpful folk.  The whole process ran so smoothly, I am amazed.  Dr Kent is friendly with a wealth of knowledge under his belt.  His favorite adjective is "beautiful", regarding your surgery, that is.    I felt well cared for in the best way possible.  I would highly recommend Kirk Eye Care to anyone needing to se an Ophthalmologist More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 28, 2021

I had cataract surgery at Kirk Eye Center. Dr Carter was my surgeon and for follow up I saw both Dr Kent and Dr Scott. I had a great experience not only with doctors but all the staff as well. They are all very friendly and professional. My experience exceeded all my expectations and my vision is better than it’s been since I was a child. I highly recommend Kirk Eye center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 04, 2021

I came into Kirk eye center for a second opinion about my cataracts and I was glad I did. The other place that I put my trust into could not wait to give me the high pressure sell telling me I needed to get this lens or that lens . Dr. Scott took the time and explained all my options including me on every decision and I am glad. He did a great job on both my cataracts . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 09, 2021

I had ICL surgery done  two weeks ago and words can’t express my gratitude to Dr Kent Kirk, he gave me my vision back. The  staff members are  so competent. The front desk staff are always welcoming.  Joyce  Wolter the Surgical Manager is extremely helpful. The staff at the surgery center are very efficient. Dr. Kent Kirk is amazing, extremely professionaI,  knowledgeable and friendly. I am extremely happy with my experience in Kirk Eye Center @ River Forest. Thalia Lopez More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.X.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 18, 2021

My vision declined drastically last year.  At the end of the year, I couldn’t even drive when it became dark. At first, I visited a retinal specialist and went through various exams.  At the third visit, he told me that not much can be done to improve my vision.  He also sent me to the Chicago Lighthouse to get special eyeglasses for visually impaired.  Before I went to the Lighthouse appointment, I decided to get the second opinion from Dr. Carter Kirk.  That was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.  Dr. Carter quickly diagnosed me with cataracts.  He performed surgeries on both of my eyes shortly after.  My vision improved dramatically after the surgery.  They are still both at 20/20 with -3.50 eyeglasses four months after the surgery.  I can’t say enough to thank Dr. Carter and the Kirk Eye Center staffs for their professionalism and help! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 09, 2021

I am extremely happy with my experience at Kirk eye center. The ladies  in the optical center where is helpful as they could be in all very  friendly. I brought in a pair of surgical glasses where lens fell out  timer and the manufacturer would have taken a couple weeks minimum to  return these to me. Due to my profession I cannot afford to go more than  a couple days without them.the part that concerned me was that these  lenses have to be lined up perfectly as they are very costly precision  instruments. The staff spent well over an hour helping me with these and  we finally we’re able to get them back still working order and I am  able to see out of them perfectly again. I am extremely impressed that  the staff took the time and had the patience to work with me. From now  on if I need anything Kirk eye center will definitely be my first go to  choice. I thank you, you have a very friendly and outgoing staff!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 22, 2021

My experience was wonderful! After an extremely disappointing experience with another center,  I went to Kirk Eye Center not sure what to expect.  The entire staff is kind,  welcoming and knowledgeable. Dr. Carter was just terrific,  answered all my questions patiently.  Joyce was kind,  efficient and easy to talk to.  The surgical staff were reassuring and so sweet.  I can not recommend them enough.  They certainly deserve more than 5 stars!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 08, 2021

Dr. Carter Kirk and his team were great . Explained everything about the procedure which was quick  and easy. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 02, 2021

The entire process was very smooth and the staff was awesome making you feel comfortable pre and post procedure. Dr. Kent was great at explaining everything step by step. The outcome is amazing and I wish I would have done LASIK years earlier. Dan O More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 11, 2021

Over the last few years my vision has gradually worsened. I could not read a street sign from 20 feet away i went to Kirk eye center to see if anything could be done to improve my vision. I was immediately impressed with the professionalism of the staff. After a very thorough it was determined that i should have cataract surgery on both eyes. Dr.Carter Kirk performed surgery on both of my eyes. My vision has improved dramatically . Now i have the ability to see clearly day and night. As a result i do not need glasses at all . Dr. Carter and his excellent gave me my clear vision back, that had been declining for years. I heartily recommend Kirk Eye Center. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from R.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 01, 2020

My opinion on lasik surgery at Dr. Kirks Office: 1. Customer service 2. pain 3. recovery & vision...1. I had lasik surgery at this office and appreciated the medical staff very much. Once you pass the customer service desk the nurse aids and all staff in back are very welcoming and sweet. Made me feel very comfortable compared to a major lasik company I visited months prior and opted out of doing service with.  I will say that the front desk team could come across a bit rushed and too busy to really focus on me and truly make me feel "special".... after all I’m forking over a lot of money for lasik right? If you ask me, this is an expensive investment I’m making on my sight so I would expect nothing less then top notch service from the greeters. But they didn’t perform the surgery so let’s move on. Dr. KIRK was pleasant and well experienced. My first visit with him was short but efficient. I only wish I would have shared more about my eyes so that I could feel like he knew more about my health before surgery. I’m sure he had all he needed with his experience through the exams and all... but I guess just to make me feel more at ease with this ...maybe just a few more questions about my eye history.  2. The pain was excruciating.  No one could have EVER prepared me for the pain I felt. Was it the numbing drops? Did they not wait long enough for it to take effect? Was I just not tolerant enough? Were my eyes just too sensisitive from sleeping with contacts over the years? (Something I never shared) am I not good with anesthesia? I had so many questions as to why I felt SO MUCH pain during the surgery process. On my first eye, I felt the cornea lifted up and it burned, but I didn’t on the second eye. The pressure on my eyes was unbearable. I was referred here and it was due to several great experiences so I truly don’t question the Drs ability and have no negative feedback after my recovery because my results speak for themself ...I CAN SEE!!:)  but just the mere fact that I was expecting "a painless" surgery, and maybe just uncomfortable at most is why I give this a 4 star rating. I will say that most people if not all say its painless so now I just question Everyone’s honesty on this! 3. Recovery.... I could see on DAY 1 after surgery... very sensitive eyes of course. But I was pleasantly surprised that my vision was good! Normally -5/-4 ....now 20/20? I do have to say that when you wear contacts vision is so sharp its not the same with lasik. Its almost like a spark of clarity is missing. Wish I would have been prepared for that. Because you expect perfection ... but its more of natural perfection vs modern perfection if that makes sense? Its almost like you do settle for a tiny bit less . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 28, 2020

I knew that I had to go to the eye doctor, as my eyesight seemed to be getting worse and worse, and that it was quite possibly because of cataracts.  Not being able to see up close is in my estimation, somewhat of a relative issue, but driving at night was becoming more difficult.  Halos on headlights or any type of street light was soon going to be a limitation.I came to Dr. Kent Kirk because my former eye doctor had retired after many years and my files had been transferred to the Kirk Eye Center.  I found Dr. Kent Kirk to be very professional and knowledgeable about the procedures that he would be doing on my eyes.  He took me through the procedure step-by-step.  I actually decided to have the cataract surgery performed on my left eye, just two days before my birthday.  Though I was a bit apprehensive, I found that everything that was done, was exactly what had been outlined.  One thing that I had learned prior to the surgery was that cataract surgery was first performed in about 1750 and I really figured that this surgery would go with no issue.  Little did I know that the surgery would go way better than I could have imagined.  I found that on the way home, I already could see more clearly, whether it was license plates on vehicle around me, street signs, or even brighter interior lights. My left eye was markedly improved.  I came back the next day for the post-surgery follow-up and Dr. Kirk was quite pleased with his work, as was I.He did ask when I wanted to do the right eye and I immediately told him - asap!  I was able to have the appointment for the right eye surgery, 13 days later.  This time the cataract surgery went easily, as well as the first.  The big difference was there was very little apprehension on my part.  Again, I was amazed at how well my vision had improved on the way home.  In fact, I don’t really know if I had ever seen as well as I do now.I had glasses from when I was first in grammar school, but I went away from glasses and in to contacts in about December of 1974.  I was working as a rookie policeman and was assigned to a "bank robbery in progress" call.  When I entered the bank, my glasses fogged up.  Within days, I made the appointment for contacts.  From December 1974, I never wore glasses again.Now with the cataract surgery done on both eyes, I find that I do not need glasses for distance, and, amazingly, I will only need reading glasses that are at the lower end of the prescription range and that depends on just how small the letters are.All things considered, this may have been one of the best choices that I have ever made.  At my age, I can probably say that my knee replacement was good, but, you know, there is nothing like being able to see clearly.Dr. Kent Kirk and his staff, both at the normal visits and the two surgery visits were fantastic.  They exhibited a great deal of professionalism and, I must say that I was quite impressed with just how routine they could make this surgery.  If you are unsure, I say - go for it!  And Dr. Kent Kirk is the right person for getting the job done right. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 13, 2020

I went to Kirk Eye Center for my Lasik consultation and was able to get my appointment for the surgery just a week later. Dr. Kent Kirk was extremely nice and made me feel very comfortable. The surgery was a breeze and recovery was as well. If i had any questions there was always someone to ask. I would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to get Lasik to go to Kirk Eye Center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 05, 2020

I have been wearing glasses and needing eye care all of my life. Several months ago my cataract was at the point that it needed to be treated. I learned of Kirk Eye Center from a friend who said that he had an excellent experience there. So I went and had cataract surgery. What a wonderful experience! Everyone at Kirk Eye Center is caring, patient, and professional from the front desk to the operating room. And there is a level of sincerity that you rarely find elsewhere. Every so often you meet someone who, after just a short time of conversation, you have complete confidence in. For me that was Dr. Scott Kirk. I am 73 and have been to many eye doctors. This was by far my best eye care experience ever. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 23, 2020

Hello, I would like to give praise to Sarah E. For her attention and care for my mom. During this horrible pandemic my mom got a small infection in her eye, and rest assured it’s back to normal days later, due  to Sarah and Kirk’s wonderful team. Their follow up and knowledge made the whole process peaceful. Thank you so much! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 14, 2020

I have undergone three procedures at the Kirk Eye Center over the last 15 years. You will never find a more professional operation than at Kirk Eye. Dr. Kent, Dr. Scott and now Dr. Carter Kirk are not only professional but also compassionate. They go above and beyond for the needs of the patient. All three of my procedures were handled professionally and expertly. All three procedures ended up with the intended results. I cannot recommend them more strongly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 13, 2019

Dr. Carter Kirk is a lifesaver!!!  After seeing six doctors in other practices and being misdiagnosed for over 2 weeks with a viral infection I was sent to Kirk Eye Center to see him. He was the only one who diagnosed me correctly with a very rare bacterial infection. He immediately changed my course of action. He took the time to explain what was going on and what needed to be done. He is gracious, patient, super intelligent and you can tell he does his research. He also recommended that I go and get a confocal scan at Rush  hospital. He was able to immediately get me in there and it confirmed his findings. Dr. Carter Kirk was absolutely AMAZING and I don't know what I would have done without him!!!  Had it not been for his expert experience and catching this, my outcome could have been very grim. If I could give him 10 stars I would!!!!  Not only is he an outstanding doctor but their facilities are beautiful as well. I felt like I was in great hands the whole time! I highly, highly recommend him!!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 13, 2019

Dr. Carter Kirk is a lifesaver!!!  After seeing six doctors in other practices and being misdiagnosed for over 2 weeks with a viral infection I was sent to Kirk Eye Center to see him. He was the only one who diagnosed me correctly with a very rare bacterial infection. He immediately changed my course of action. He took the time to explain what was going on and what needed to be done. He is gracious, patient, super intelligent and you can tell he does his research. He also recommended that I go and get a confocal scan at Rush  hospital. He was able to immediately get me in there and it confirmed his findings. Dr. Carter Kirk was absolutely AMAZING and I don’t know what I would have done without him!!!  Had it not been for his expert experience and catching this, my outcome could have been very grim. If I could give him 10 stars I would!!!!  Not only is he an outstanding doctor but their facilities are beautiful as well. I felt like I was in great hands the whole time! I highly, highly recommend him!!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 28, 2019

I was in and out of the office in 45 mins and not because they rushed me through it was because of the efficency of the office personnel.  Katie is going to be my go to gal for all future appointments.  She is so qualified and I always enjoy giving my money to Joann at the front desk.  Rochelle Grizaffi More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 01, 2019

I love my new Silhouette Eyeglasses, and my new Maui Jim prescription sunglasses.  They make me feel like a million bucks.  The optical manager, Robin, was very helpful in helping me with my selection, measuring, and follow up.  Kirk Eye Center used a prescription I received from a different optical center.  I’ll be going straight to Kirk Eye Center next year. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 01, 2019

I love my new Silhouette Eyeglasses, and my new Maui Jim prescription sunglasses.  They make me feel like a million bucks.  The optical manager, Robin, was very helpful in helping me with my selection, measuring, and follow up.  Kirk Eye Center used a prescription I received from a different optical center.  I'll be going straight to Kirk Eye Center next year. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 18, 2019

First time at the Kirk Eye Center. Staff is very attentive and professional. Two thumbs up for Robin and Mimi. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 27, 2019

My family has known the Kirks for many years and Dr. Kent Kirk has been my ophthalmologist for a while now as well and we are very fond of them all.  Dr. Kirk recently did my Lasik and it was completely painless and I see like a hawk now. He checked in with me personally at home after I went home the day of the procedure.   The Kirk Eye Center is great and it's just around the corner from my house and we will keep following up there indefinitely. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 27, 2019

My family has known the Kirks for many years and Dr. Kent Kirk has been my ophthalmologist for a while now as well and we are very fond of them all.  Dr. Kirk recently did my Lasik and it was completely painless and I see like a hawk now. He checked in with me personally at home after I went home the day of the procedure.   The Kirk Eye Center is great and it’s just around the corner from my house and we will keep following up there indefinitely. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 20, 2019

I am glad to have chosen Kirk Eye Center to get my Lasik surgery done. From start to finish the experience could not have gone better. I went in for my free consultation where my eyes were thoroughly examined and I was told I was a candidate. Dr. Kent Kirk thoroughly explained the procedure to me and what I could expect afterward as well as the timeline of how my vision would progress. He took the time to answer all of my questions, and I did not feel rushed at all, which I have experienced quite a bit with other doctors and what I gleaned from other people’s reviews of some of the "cattle call" Lasik centers in the area. The day of the procedure, I was at the surgery center for less than an hour and a half. I didn’t have to wait at all, and the process was streamlined but again, I did not feel rushed. The staff was so nice and seemed genuinely concerned that everything went well. Dr. Kirk explained the process and it went exactly as he said it would go. It was about 30 seconds of total time under the lasers for each eye and the process was nowhere near as uncomfortable as I had imagined. Dr. Kirk gives you his cell phone number to call if you need anything or have any issues. I went home and took a nap, and Dr. Kirk called me that night to make sure everything was okay which is a nice touch. By the next day my vision was restored to a level it hasn’t been since I was 20 years old! It has been 4 days and so far so good. Just like you always hear, my only regret is that I didn’t do this sooner! Great experience, great staff, great doctor, I highly recommend Kirk Eye Center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 13, 2019

Dr. Scott Kirk did a wonderful job and is very professional. I had laser eye surgery about a week ago and they made me feel at ease and comfortable through the whole process. The whole experience between the exam and procedure was professional and amazing with how quick and efficient they are! I would highly recommend for an eye doctor or surgery procedure in the future. They truly care about their patients and make them feel comfortable and at ease with the whole process.-John Mavigliano More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 13, 2019

Dr. Scott Kirk did a wonderful job and is very professional. I had laser eye surgery about a week ago and they made me feel at ease and comfortable through the whole process. The whole experience between the exam and procedure was professional and amazing with how quick and efficient they are! I would highly recommend for an eye doctor or surgery procedure in the future. They truly care about their patients and make them feel comfortable and at ease with the whole process. -John Mavigliano More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 06, 2019

I have been a patient at Kirk Eye Center for 25 years. Each time I visit, I receive the same courteous treatment and respect that makes me want to return and also to recommend the Drs Kirk to friends of mine.   I have had cataract surgery there, get routine tests such as visual fields and get my pressure checked.  From surgery to emergency appointments I have never doubted that I was I the best of hands for every situation. The staff is patient and kind and the doctors make sure to inquire about how you are feeling and ask about things you have been up to.  I can't say enough. A wonderful, welcoming and top notch practice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 06, 2019

I have been a patient at Kirk Eye Center for 25 years. Each time I visit, I receive the same courteous treatment and respect that makes me want to return and also to recommend the Drs Kirk to friends of mine.  I have had cataract surgery there, get routine tests such as visual fields and get my pressure checked.  From surgery to emergency appointments I have never doubted that I was I the best of hands for every situation.The staff is patient and kind and the doctors make sure to inquire about how you are feeling and ask about things you have been up to.  I can’t say enough. A wonderful, welcoming and top notch practice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 02, 2019

Highly recommend Dr. Kirk and his team. Very nice, very professional, and I'm ecstatic I finally made the decision to get LASIK. The procedure is quick and painless. Dr. Kirk and his team walked me through every step so there were no surprises. Dr. Kirk also called me the night of my surgery to personally check in on me to see how I was doing and if there were any questions he could answer for me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 02, 2019

Highly recommend Dr. Kirk and his team. Very nice, very professional, and I’m ecstatic I finally made the decision to get LASIK.The procedure is quick and painless. Dr. Kirk and his team walked me through every step so there were no surprises. Dr. Kirk also called me the night of my surgery to personally check in on me to see how I was doing and if there were any questions he could answer for me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 27, 2018

Dr. Kirk and his team were amazing! I had LASIK done and the experience was life changing. Everyone explained every last detail about the procedure to make sure I understood what was happening. The procedure was very quick and easy. I was able to go home and rest after without any pain. Dr. Kirk called me after the procedure to follow-up and make sure I was still feeling okay. He really cares about the well-being of his patients. I would recommend getting LASIK done by Dr. Kirk to everyone. Dr. Kirk and his team are top-notch! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 27, 2018

Dr. Kirk and his team were amazing! I had LASIK done and the experience was life changing. Everyone explained every last detail about the procedure to make sure I understood what was happening. The procedure was very quick and easy. I was able to go home and rest after without any pain.Dr. Kirk called me after the procedure to follow-up and make sure I was still feeling okay. He really cares about the well-being of his patients. I would recommend getting LASIK done by Dr. Kirk to everyone. Dr. Kirk and his team are top-notch! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 10, 2018

I am so excited with the result of my Lasik operation at Kirk Eye Center.  Since I am so pleased with how the operation went and the result.  Here is the overall experience of my procedure.1. Free consultation / follow up questionsI had a Mini-Monovision or Laser Blended Vision as you will find on the internet.  Yes, I was scared of having each eye with different visions.Dr. Kent Kirk along with Ms. Joyce Walter covered all questions and concerns I had prior to the operation.2. Pre-op preparationUsual blood pressure check, eye drops, choice to take sedative pill...I wouldn’t go without it. Nurses were professional and courteous, Dr. Kent also took time to answer additional questions.3. Creating cornea flap operationKirk utilize laser cutting method, this is safer than manual cutting method, which I liked.  Only thing is that it is a bit awkward, since you will feel heavy pressure and lose sight on that eye temporary.  All I did was just focus on center light and being steady as much as possible as Dr. Kent encouraged me to do so by saying "Doing great, perfect and etc etc" for less than 30 seconds each eyes.4. Lasik operationAllegretto WAVE Eye-Q Excimer Laser System.  This machine automatically trace your natural eye movements to eliminate miss firing of laser and it stops, if you move your eye out of the machine’s tolerance.  All I did was to keep my eye steadily on green flickering light as Dr. Kent also encouraged me to do.  During the procedure, green light do move around and the light become fuzzy.  What I did is to chase the green light as much as possible and also try to focus on the center of the fuzzy green light.  No worries, I did have a few moments I could not locate the green light, if then, I just focused my eye on where the green light was until see it again.5. Recovery, day of the operationYou will feel sedated from sedative and you will not be able to open your eyes well enough to see.  So, when I got home, I immediately wore protective goggles and went to sleep for 3~4 hours, this is easy since you feel sedated.  Your eyes will be extra sensitive, so make sure room is pitch black.  Don’t worry about eye drops, just sleep it away.  I woke up with decent eye sight, enough to function around the house, I still kept wearing sunglasses around the house in dark setting with no TV nor electric devices to soften my eyes hoping for faster healing.6. Follow up appointment and 1st dayI found my eyes already recovered enough to drive.  Feeling is very similar to after swam in a pool full of chlorine...  Dr. Kent confirmed my combined vision is 20/20, then Dr. tap on my elbow and said "you god 20/20 vision!"...My eyes were still fuzz, so I was still a bit skeptic...  I drove to work after the appointment and followed recommended eye drop routines, I even used more tear eye drop (every 30 min) as I found that eyes need moisture to heal.  My eyes did not show improvements throughout the day, but they were good enough for me to drive home at night in rain.  No depth perception nor weird feeling issue due to Mini-monovision...8. 2nd day after the surgeryI woke up with almost 90% of the fuzziness gone...I found myself totally amazed/shocked by the clarity of my vision...  There is a tree in front of our balcony which is about 30 feet away 3 story height.  I can even see crease and dark spot on a leaf almost to the top of the tree 30 feet away.  If this is the result from Mini-Monovision / Laser Blended Vision (one for nearsighted, another for farsighted correction).  I am now a true believer and I am sure my eyes were never this good in my life...what an amazing result this is...I drove to work still wearing sunglasses and tear eye drop every 30 min as thinking of the last 10% clarity...  I am still a bit light sensitiveness, but I am so sure it will subside as it progress, I cannot even wait for next few days of improvements to come... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 10, 2018

I am so excited with the result of my Lasik operation at Kirk Eye Center.  Since I am so pleased with how the operation went and the result.  Here is the overall experience of my procedure. 1. Free consultation / follow up questions I had a Mini-Monovision or Laser Blended Vision as you will find on the internet.  Yes, I was scared of having each eye with different visions. Dr. Kent Kirk along with Ms. Joyce Walter covered all questions and concerns I had prior to the operation. 2. Pre-op preparation Usual blood pressure check, eye drops, choice to take sedative pill...I wouldn't go without it. Nurses were professional and courteous, Dr. Kent also took time to answer additional questions. 3. Creating cornea flap operation Kirk utilize laser cutting method, this is safer than manual cutting method, which I liked.  Only thing is that it is a bit awkward, since you will feel heavy pressure and lose sight on that eye temporary.  All I did was just focus on center light and being steady as much as possible as Dr. Kent encouraged me to do so by saying "Doing great, perfect and etc etc" for less than 30 seconds each eyes. 4. Lasik operation Allegretto WAVE Eye-Q Excimer Laser System.  This machine automatically trace your natural eye movements to eliminate miss firing of laser and it stops, if you move your eye out of the machine's tolerance.  All I did was to keep my eye steadily on green flickering light as Dr. Kent also encouraged me to do.  During the procedure, green light do move around and the light become fuzzy.  What I did is to chase the green light as much as possible and also try to focus on the center of the fuzzy green light.  No worries, I did have a few moments I could not locate the green light, if then, I just focused my eye on where the green light was until see it again. 5. Recovery, day of the operation You will feel sedated from sedative and you will not be able to open your eyes well enough to see.  So, when I got home, I immediately wore protective goggles and went to sleep for 3~4 hours, this is easy since you feel sedated.  Your eyes will be extra sensitive, so make sure room is pitch black.  Don't worry about eye drops, just sleep it away.  I woke up with decent eye sight, enough to function around the house, I still kept wearing sunglasses around the house in dark setting with no TV nor electric devices to soften my eyes hoping for faster healing. 6. Follow up appointment and 1st day I found my eyes already recovered enough to drive.  Feeling is very similar to after swam in a pool full of chlorine...  Dr. Kent confirmed my combined vision is 20/20, then Dr. tap on my elbow and said "you god 20/20 vision!"...My eyes were still fuzz, so I was still a bit skeptic...  I drove to work after the appointment and followed recommended eye drop routines, I even used more tear eye drop (every 30 min) as I found that eyes need moisture to heal.  My eyes did not show improvements throughout the day, but they were good enough for me to drive home at night in rain.  No depth perception nor weird feeling issue due to Mini-monovision... 8. 2nd day after the surgery I woke up with almost 90% of the fuzziness gone...I found myself totally amazed/shocked by the clarity of my vision...  There is a tree in front of our balcony which is about 30 feet away 3 story height.  I can even see crease and dark spot on a leaf almost to the top of the tree 30 feet away.  If this is the result from Mini-Monovision / Laser Blended Vision (one for nearsighted, another for farsighted correction).  I am now a true believer and I am sure my eyes were never this good in my life...what an amazing result this is...I drove to work still wearing sunglasses and tear eye drop every 30 min as thinking of the last 10% clarity...  I am still a bit light sensitiveness, but I am so sure it will subside as it progress, I cannot even wait for next few days of improvements to come... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 27, 2018

I was extremely nervous about having cataract surgery. The staff at Kirk made the entire process...from initial exam, through the actual procedure, to the follow up exams a very positive experience. All appointments were completed on time.  Every staff member I encountered was very professional and made sure that all of my questions were answered. Drs.  Kirk, Carter, and Scott Kent were extremely skilled, patient and positive. When it came time to order glasses, the optical arm of the practice was very helpful in navigating the Medicare paperwork. Great job, Kirk! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 27, 2018

I was extremely nervous about having cataract surgery.The staff at Kirk made the entire process...from initial exam, through the actual procedure, to the follow up exams a very positive experience.All appointments were completed on time.  Every staff member I encountered was very professional and made sure that all of my questions were answered.Drs.  Kirk, Carter, and Scott Kent were extremely skilled, patient and positive.When it came time to order glasses, the optical arm of the practice was very helpful in navigating the Medicare paperwork.Great job, Kirk! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Y.X.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 19, 2018

I had my ICL surgery on Wed 3/14 and while my vision is still adjusting, I had a great experience. 10-20 minutes surgery is Pain free and Dr Kent did a great job.The next day after my ICL  surgery, Dr. checked my eye pressure and vision recovery. make sure everything was right. and make clear instruction on which eye drop I need. I would definitely recommend to those considering ICL to go here. Your eyes aren’t something to mess around with, so I really trusted them with this whole thing and I was not disappointed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Y.X.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 19, 2018

I had my ICL surgery on Wed 3/14 and while my vision is still adjusting, I had a great experience. 10-20 minutes surgery is Pain free and Dr Kent did a great job. The next day after my ICL  surgery, Dr. checked my eye pressure and vision recovery. make sure everything was right. and make clear instruction on which eye drop I need. I would definitely recommend to those considering ICL to go here. Your eyes aren't something to mess around with, so I really trusted them with this whole thing and I was not disappointed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 02, 2018

I have been seeing Dr. Dean Bauer at Kirk Eye Center for years; he is a wonderful and thorough professional. A few months ago, I had cataract surgery in both eyes done by Dr. Tyler Kirk. The outcome has been great; both eyes healed quickly and completely and I am almost used to my new-found vision! My follow-up has been mostly with Dr. Scott Kirk. I've seen some reviews critical of this practice for rescheduling people with a different doctor than they expected to see. In my experience, this has not been a problem. All of the doctors are highly professional and take the time to review my chart and answer all my questions. The staff is also very efficient and professional. I highly recommend the Kirk Eye Center! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 02, 2018

I have been seeing Dr. Dean Bauer at Kirk Eye Center for years; he is a wonderful and thorough professional. A few months ago, I had cataract surgery in both eyes done by Dr. Tyler Kirk. The outcome has been great; both eyes healed quickly and completely and I am almost used to my new-found vision! My follow-up has been mostly with Dr. Scott Kirk. I’ve seen some reviews critical of this practice for rescheduling people with a different doctor than they expected to see. In my experience, this has not been a problem. All of the doctors are highly professional and take the time to review my chart and answer all my questions. The staff is also very efficient and professional. I highly recommend the Kirk Eye Center! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 30, 2018

I had LASIK at Kirk Eye Center last week and couldn’t have had a better experience. Dr. Kent Kirk was awesome and I felt like he really cared about my eye health. I had previously gone for a consultation at LasikPlus and felt a little uneasy there. It felt like they were trying to get me scheduled for the procedure as fast as possible and spent more time talking about payment than looking at my eyes. I made the appointment at Kirk just to see if it was any different. Dr. Kirk had some concerns about a few things, scheduled me for some extra tests, and I felt so much more taken care of there. It felt like he actually cared about my long term wellness vs just wanting to schedule me for an expensive procedure and get me out the door. Everyone at Kirk was professional, accommodating, and friendly. The LASIK itself was so incredibly fast and painless that I could hardly believe it. Dr. Kirk and the nurses there all prepared me really well for the whole procedure and what would happen after. I’m normally very nervous for medical procedures, but I found the LASIK to be no big deal. It was certainly uncomfortable in the few hours following, but I knew it was normal and got through it with no problems. The next day, I was seeing 20/20 and I have had zero issues in the week since. I keep thinking that I’ll try to take my contacts out before I go to sleep because my vision is so good.I would highly recommend going to Kirk to anyone who has been thinking about LASIK. It will change your life! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 30, 2018

I had LASIK at Kirk Eye Center last week and couldn't have had a better experience. Dr. Kent Kirk was awesome and I felt like he really cared about my eye health. I had previously gone for a consultation at LasikPlus and felt a little uneasy there. It felt like they were trying to get me scheduled for the procedure as fast as possible and spent more time talking about payment than looking at my eyes. I made the appointment at Kirk just to see if it was any different. Dr. Kirk had some concerns about a few things, scheduled me for some extra tests, and I felt so much more taken care of there. It felt like he actually cared about my long term wellness vs just wanting to schedule me for an expensive procedure and get me out the door. Everyone at Kirk was professional, accommodating, and friendly. The LASIK itself was so incredibly fast and painless that I could hardly believe it. Dr. Kirk and the nurses there all prepared me really well for the whole procedure and what would happen after. I'm normally very nervous for medical procedures, but I found the LASIK to be no big deal. It was certainly uncomfortable in the few hours following, but I knew it was normal and got through it with no problems. The next day, I was seeing 20/20 and I have had zero issues in the week since. I keep thinking that I'll try to take my contacts out before I go to sleep because my vision is so good. I would highly recommend going to Kirk to anyone who has been thinking about LASIK. It will change your life! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 29, 2017

I went to 4 different places for Lasik consults because I wanted to make sure that I found a doctor who genuinely cared about me as a patient.  Kirk Eye Center and Dr. Kirk were a no brainer.  I had my Lasik surgery 10 days ago and could not be happier!  The day of the surgery after I went home and took my prescribed nap, I woke up to a voicemail from Dr. Kirk checking in.  I was so impressed that he took the time to call after the procedure.  The entire office staff has been amazing too! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 19, 2017

I've been a patient here since the 90's and have always been pleased with the care I received. I just had my annual appointment with Dr.Carter Kirk, the third generation of Kirks. Dr. Carter is exceptionally well trained and his communication style is instills confidence that he understands exactly what you are saying and describing. As a communicator, his listening skills are exceptional. Highly recommend Dr. Carter Kirk. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 19, 2017

I’ve been a patient here since the 90’s and have always been pleased with the care I received. I just had my annual appointment with Dr.Carter Kirk, the third generation of Kirks. Dr. Carter is exceptionally well trained and his communication style is instills confidence that he understands exactly what you are saying and describing. As a communicator, his listening skills are exceptional. Highly recommend Dr. Carter Kirk. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 23, 2017

I had my Lasik surgery on Wed 10/18 and while my vision is still adjusting, I had a really great experience. My consultation was really thorough and I was explained all my options. They take the time to go over with you what the surgery will be like, the financing/payment options and your post surgery care. I was very nervous, but everyone made me feel very calm the day of the surgery. They explained to me everything that was going to happen and everything they were doing. They answered all my questions and made me feel as comfortable as possible. The surgery itself was so quick and it was very encouraging while the surgery was happening, the Doctor was saying things like, "You’re doing great, just a few more seconds" stuff along those lines because it kept you aware of what was happening and in my mind I was thinking, "I can do this." I would definitely recommend to those considering Lasik to go here. Your eyes aren’t something to mess around with, so I really trusted them with this whole thing and I was not disappointed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 23, 2017

I had my Lasik surgery on Wed 10/18 and while my vision is still adjusting, I had a really great experience. My consultation was really thorough and I was explained all my options. They take the time to go over with you what the surgery will be like, the financing/payment options and your post surgery care. I was very nervous, but everyone made me feel very calm the day of the surgery. They explained to me everything that was going to happen and everything they were doing. They answered all my questions and made me feel as comfortable as possible. The surgery itself was so quick and it was very encouraging while the surgery was happening, the Doctor was saying things like, "You're doing great, just a few more seconds" stuff along those lines because it kept you aware of what was happening and in my mind I was thinking, "I can do this." I would definitely recommend to those considering Lasik to go here. Your eyes aren't something to mess around with, so I really trusted them with this whole thing and I was not disappointed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.I.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 17, 2017

I transferred to this practice a year ago to have my regular eye exams for a medical reason I had a long time ago. After having a horrible experience at my previous clinic, Chicago Eye Institute, I was really impressed by the efficient and friendly service ar the Kirk eye clinic. I've been seeing only Dr. Scott Kirk, who comes across as an intelligent, considerate, and a friendly physician. I would definitely recommend this place to future patients. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.I.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 17, 2017

I transferred to this practice a year ago to have my regular eye exams for a medical reason I had a long time ago. After having a horrible experience at my previous clinic, Chicago Eye Institute, I was really impressed by the efficient and friendly service ar the Kirk eye clinic. I’ve been seeing only Dr. Scott Kirk, who comes across as an intelligent, considerate, and a friendly physician. I would definitely recommend this place to future patients. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 22, 2017

I had Lasik last week, and I’m so happy. Dr. Kirk was awesome. Friendly, explained everything to me. The procedure was so quick. I was in the office for only about an hour. I had soreness in my eyes that day, but it was gone by the next day and now I can see!!!! So glad I finally did it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 22, 2017

I had Lasik last week, and I'm so happy. Dr. Kirk was awesome. Friendly, explained everything to me. The procedure was so quick. I was in the office for only about an hour. I had soreness in my eyes that day, but it was gone by the next day and now I can see!!!! So glad I finally did it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 25, 2017

Dr. Kent Kirk performed cataract surgery in both of my eyes within the past 6 weeks.  My eyes were so bad before that I don't think my prescription could have gotten much stronger.  Now, after the surgeries, I have 20/20 vision!  It is a miracle!  I can see everything without my glasses for the first time in my entire life!  The surgery was very fast and easy.  I never had any pain of any kind.  I was driving by the day following surgery, and a week later it's like it never happened - except that I can see!  I did get something in my eye a couple hours after my surgery and when I went back to the office they were closed.  Dr. Tyler Kirk was still in the surgery center and he came over and cleaned my eye and got whatever it was out.  That was very much appreciated. This is a place where everyone cares.  From Trevor who schedules your surgery and takes care to listen to your needs, to Dr. Kirk who is tremendously skilled at what he does, to all the wonderful nurses in the surgery center who make sure you are comfortable every minute you're there (they gave me extra blankets and a mint chocolate to eat!), they are all so very nice!  The only thing I regret is that now I won't get to visit with Mimi and Robin in the eyeglass department who made sure I've had the perfect glasses for so many years! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 25, 2017

Dr. Kent Kirk performed cataract surgery in both of my eyes within the past 6 weeks.  My eyes were so bad before that I don’t think my prescription could have gotten much stronger.  Now, after the surgeries, I have 20/20 vision!  It is a miracle!  I can see everything without my glasses for the first time in my entire life!  The surgery was very fast and easy.  I never had any pain of any kind.  I was driving by the day following surgery, and a week later it’s like it never happened - except that I can see!  I did get something in my eye a couple hours after my surgery and when I went back to the office they were closed.  Dr. Tyler Kirk was still in the surgery center and he came over and cleaned my eye and got whatever it was out.  That was very much appreciated.This is a place where everyone cares.  From Trevor who schedules your surgery and takes care to listen to your needs, to Dr. Kirk who is tremendously skilled at what he does, to all the wonderful nurses in the surgery center who make sure you are comfortable every minute you’re there (they gave me extra blankets and a mint chocolate to eat!), they are all so very nice!  The only thing I regret is that now I won’t get to visit with Mimi and Robin in the eyeglass department who made sure I’ve had the perfect glasses for so many years! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 08, 2017

I had lasik here about two and a half weeks ago and I had a great experience! Everyone I interacted with was professional and responsible and answered my (many) questions. Every step was explained clearly, and I even got a follow up call the night of my surgery, which I really appreciated. I can’t tell you how happy I am with the results! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 08, 2017

I had lasik here about two and a half weeks ago and I had a great experience! Everyone I interacted with was professional and responsible and answered my (many) questions. Every step was explained clearly, and I even got a follow up call the night of my surgery, which I really appreciated. I can't tell you how happy I am with the results! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 30, 2017

Dr. Carter Kirk did an amazing job performing my LASIK surgery. From the pre-op appointment, surgery, to follow-up visits, he gave thorough, exceptional care not only for outstanding surgical results but for my overall eye health. I am very pleased with the outcome. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 23, 2017

I went to the Kirk eye center for a LASIK consultation and was blown away by the service of the staff and Dr. Kent Kirk. I decided to go through with the procedure and have never been happier!!! They make sure everything went perfect with the follow up appointments. I now have better then 20/20 vision! Amazing! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 16, 2017

They saved my eyesight and possibly my life in 2005 when they found a problem my neurosurgeon missed, and refused to let me out of the office until someone on my neurosurgeons team agreed to see me. I was in the hospital for a spinal tap less than a week later, where they confirmed Dr. Kirk's findings. I've never forgotten that. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 16, 2017

They saved my eyesight and possibly my life in 2005 when they found a problem my neurosurgeon missed, and refused to let me out of the office until someone on my neurosurgeons team agreed to see me. I was in the hospital for a spinal tap less than a week later, where they confirmed Dr. Kirk’s findings. I’ve never forgotten that. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 15, 2017

I’ve always had a good experience here! I have contacted the doctors office with an eye problem they have a great live chat they use to help get to the problem! Overall great experience and makes me feel like they care! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 15, 2017

I've always had a good experience here! I have contacted the doctors office with an eye problem they have a great live chat they use to help get to the problem! Overall great experience and makes me feel like they care! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 21, 2016

Great customer service and responsiveness from Robin ! She helped me out with my eyeglasses when I was out of town More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 02, 2016

I actually found Dr Kent Kirk at zocdoc.com, but the 5 star reviews on Yelp were very helpful. I found my vision getting cloudy and felt that I needed my eyes checked. I needed cataract surgery and Dr Kent Kirk performed that for me yesterday. The procedure took about 15 minutes and I felt no pain during the entire procedure. I had zero side effects: no inflammation, no infection, no swelling, no bleeding, no glaucoma or retinal problems. As I write today online, I  can read the computer screen better now than with my glasses. At my followup visit today Dr Kent Kirk told me that everything was so successful that I could start driving again. No restrictions. I couldn’t be more pleased. Dr Kent Kirk is the "Michael Jordan" of ophthalmologists. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!Update as of June 30, 2016: Dr Kent Kirk did my left eye yesterday and did the follow-up today and I now have near 20/20 vision in my left eye. I was able to read the 20/25 line and 2 of the 4 letters on the 20/20 line. He put a distance lens in my left eye and a reading lens in my right eye. I don’t need glasses anymore. I couldn’t be happier. Both surgeries were done to perfection. I can drive without glasses the day after my surgery. In addition, Medicare plus my supplement paid the entire cost of both surgeries.Update as of July 8, 2016: I read all 4 letters at the 20/20 line. 9 days after my surgery I am 20/20 after being horribly nearsighted before the surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 02, 2016

I actually found Dr Kent Kirk at zocdoc.com, but the 5 star reviews on Yelp were very helpful. I found my vision getting cloudy and felt that I needed my eyes checked. I needed cataract surgery and Dr Kent Kirk performed that for me yesterday. The procedure took about 15 minutes and I felt no pain during the entire procedure. I had zero side effects: no inflammation, no infection, no swelling, no bleeding, no glaucoma or retinal problems. As I write today online, I  can read the computer screen better now than with my glasses. At my followup visit today Dr Kent Kirk told me that everything was so successful that I could start driving again. No restrictions. I couldn't be more pleased. Dr Kent Kirk is the "Michael Jordan" of ophthalmologists. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Update as of June 30, 2016: Dr Kent Kirk did my left eye yesterday and did the follow-up today and I now have near 20/20 vision in my left eye. I was able to read the 20/25 line and 2 of the 4 letters on the 20/20 line. He put a distance lens in my left eye and a reading lens in my right eye. I don't need glasses anymore. I couldn't be happier. Both surgeries were done to perfection. I can drive without glasses the day after my surgery. In addition, Medicare plus my supplement paid the entire cost of both surgeries. Update as of July 8, 2016: I read all 4 letters at the 20/20 line. 9 days after my surgery I am 20/20 after being horribly nearsighted before the surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 12, 2015

We had an absolutely AMAZING experience at Kirk Eye Center.  Their attention to customer satisfaction is unparalleled.  The surgery was exactly as they described. The results PERFECT. I cannot say enough how professional, yet warm and friendly this office of eye experts is.  I had Dr. Scott perform the surgery and I would recommend his expertise to anyone. They are up on the latest technology. Their support staff is friendly and thorough.  I disagree with any reviews are not 5 stars.  They were recommended to me, and I recommend them to everyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 16, 2015

I have been wearing glasses/contacts since 2nd grade, and decided that my 30th birthday present to myself would be LASIK surgery. As a physician, my eyes are extremely important to my future ability to work, so I wanted the best care I could find. After talking with several local residents who have received LASIK, it seemed evident that Kirk Eye Center provided the best care in the area. With something as important as my vision, I wanted to be in the best hands.My experience did not disappoint. My initial appointment to determine if I was to be a good candidate for LASIK surgery was handled extremely professionally, and the explanation that Dr. Kent Kirk provided me with how the surgery worked, side effects, and what to expect afterwards was superb. I was able to schedule my surgery at the NovaMed surgery center three months later (he performs the surgery once a month). Katie, the surgery coordinator, was extremely helpful and cooperative in setting up all the details.The day of the surgery, I felt well cared for by the surgery staff and coordinators. Dr. Kirk again explained what he would be doing, what to expect, and how long everything would take. The whole procedure took less than an hour, I went home to take a 4 hour nap (thank you, valium) with some mild burning relieved by an anti-inflammatory eye drop, and besides some increased tear production initially, today have better than 20/20 vision. I could not be happier. Dr. Kirk even called that evening to personally check in to see how things were going.Again, I am a fairly new physician who interacts with many patients every day. It can sometimes get busy which can manifest itself in staff becoming agitated. However, as busy as Dr. Kirk must be, the care and professionalism demonstrated by him and his staff was textbook. When it comes to your eyes, do yourself and a favor and go with the Kirk Eye Center. You won’t regret it. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 06, 2014

I have had multiple surgeries and procedures done at the Kirk Eye Center over a 30 year time frame. I’ve never had a bad experience with either Scott or Kent Kirk. They are both very skilled doctors who care deeply about their patients. I trust the Kirks with my own children who also have never had a bad experience. This is understandably a busy practice so plan ahead and make your appointment in advance if possible. Although even in emergency situations we’ve had a good experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 06, 2014

I have had multiple surgeries and procedures done at the Kirk Eye Center over a 30 year time frame. I've never had a bad experience with either Scott or Kent Kirk. They are both very skilled doctors who care deeply about their patients. I trust the Kirks with my own children who also have never had a bad experience. This is understandably a busy practice so plan ahead and make your appointment in advance if possible. Although even in emergency situations we've had a good experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 25, 2014

I recently went in to see if I could get Lasik.  I had perfect vision growing up and with age, I noticed my vision getting worse (Presbyopia).  First cheaters in my 40s and then monovision and then bifocal contacts and glasses.  Then I node my general vision was also declining.  At age 58, this was not how I wanted to continue.After an extensive exam, Dr. Kirk advised me that I wasn’t a "good candidate for Lasik" as he noted an early onset of cataracts. It was not immediately noticeable and there was no cloudiness.  Dr. Kirk told me the first clue, which resulted in a much more detailed exam was  that my prescription changed a full 2 diopters in one year and that was a sign of possible cataracts.  A less detailed exam might not have picked this up until they were more developed.  My vision would only continue to get worse and undo the good of the Laisik. While the cataracts would not become an issue for perhaps 15 years, I would need to stay in glasses or contacts and have worsening vision each year.  The proposed long-term solution would be to have cataract surgery and then have bifocal lenses implanted.  Considered elective surgery, it was costlier than Lasik, but it was a "lifetime" solution, meaning my vision would never worsen after the surgery.After independent research, I agreed and have had both eyes repaired.  I had the "Restore" IOLs implanted.  Their staff are all very helpful and I had all of my concerns addressed.  They did not make promises of perfect vision, only that I would see an great improvement.  This type of procedure also meant I would never develop cataracts.The eyes were done one at a time, two weeks apart.  The procedures were totally pain free.  I did decline any sedation, as I wanted to fully understand what was happening.  There was no need for it.  The  doctors (Scott for the first and Kent for the second) both made sure I understood everything that was going on.  The follow up care was excellent.The best way to describe the results are miraculous!  I now have 20/20 vision in both eyes and am totally free of any additional eyewear (including cheaters).  I also noticed that I no longer saw "floaters" which I had begun to see over the past year.  I have crystal clear vision and good not be happier. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from N.V.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 09, 2014

Folks here know what they are doing and I will use the eye services again when needed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 16, 2014

I had LASIK surgery in March and I was so impressed with the staff,the efficiency, the professionalism..a five star rating even before the five star rating for now having perfect vision! I would trust my eyes to no one else!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 26, 2014

I had LASIK surgery done here and it was great. The staff and Dr Kirk made sure that the procedure went smooth. I can't even remember when I could see this clearly in my life and I love it! I would recommend the Kirk Eye Center to anyone in the similar situation. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 26, 2014

I had LASIK surgery done here and it was great. The staff and Dr Kirk made sure that the procedure went smooth. I can’t even remember when I could see this clearly in my life and I love it! I would recommend the Kirk Eye Center to anyone in the similar situation. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 22, 2014

i purchased my first pair of reading glasses at Kirk Eye Center which isn’t exactly a great day in the aging process! but it was great with the professional and easy to work with optical staff. they really helped me find a great pair of glasses at a very reasonable price. The doctors really care about their patients and the community and that is why it is a three generation practice. your in good hands at Kirk Eye! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 22, 2014

i purchased my first pair of reading glasses at Kirk Eye Center which isn't exactly a great day in the aging process! but it was great with the professional and easy to work with optical staff. they really helped me find a great pair of glasses at a very reasonable price. The doctors really care about their patients and the community and that is why it is a three generation practice. your in good hands at Kirk Eye! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 15, 2014

I went to Kirk Eye Center for a simple eye checkup and new glasses. I had been there fifteen years prior for a one time visit and they still had me in their system.Setting up an appointment was easy, after I arrived, I gave my insurance information to the receptionist, and a few minutes later I was in an exam room. Where they dilated my eyes.I saw DR Kirk in another room after a while. I found him very warm and personable, yet professional.It was not long before I was in the front looking for new frames. The staff there was very knowledgeable and helpful they were able to order the new frames I had just picked out. After a couple of weeks (Christmas and New Years were in between that time, otherwise I would have had them sooner) I was able to pick up my new glasses. Again finding the staff professional and helpful.All in all I would highly recommend Kirk Eye Center, they are a five star facility! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 22, 2013

Kirk eye is a 5 star facility. My husband suffered an eye injury (climbing a tree ...he is 53 by the way) Dr kirk saw him at 6 am, treated him,was un-rushed,comfortable,professional. Dan was treated daily for 2 weeks & we could not have asked for more caring service.  Currently my Mom has had both cataracts done, and I can say with certainty that Kirk eye centers are the very best in the area. Thank You Dr Kirk, and your entire staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 14, 2013

Recently, my husband and I had eye exams at Kirk Eye Center. Everyone was just wonderful and supportive.  As well, we certainly enjoyed the warm and friendly reception at the front desk and from Judy and the incredible attention, time and detail that Mimi the optician and her colleagues showed us. We ordered our glasses from the Optician Center as well. Great group. Patti Cone More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 14, 2013

Recently, my husband and I had eye exams at Kirk Eye Center. Everyone was just wonderful and supportive.  As well, we certainly enjoyed the warm and friendly reception at the front desk and from Judy and the incredible attention, time and detail that Mimi the optician and her colleagues showed us. We ordered our glasses from the Optician Center as well. Great group.Patti Cone More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 29, 2013

The eye exam technician was really wonderful with my almost 6 year old daughter as was the dotor when he examined her.  Everyone was really nice and professional! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 09, 2012

My spouse and I have had excellent outcomes with the professional staff and a special thanks to Dr. Kent Kirk. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 07, 2012

I had lens replacement done at Kirk Eye Center.  It was amazing and I am so very glad I had it done and done by Kent Kirk.  Dr. Kirk went over everything with me in detail, he was never pushy only gave me information, answered all of my questions and then let me decide.  When I went in for the procedure everyone was very nice.   They explained everything they were doing and answered all my questions.  This did a lot to calm me.  Before knew it the procedure was over and I could already see better than when I first went in.  It was wonderful!  I had the multi-focal lens replacement which means I don’t even need to wear readers!  I have been delighted with the out come ever since.  Kirk Eye Center has been our family’s eye place for many years, besides the yearly exams they also did my son’s laser eye surgery and I can’t even tell you how wonderful that was.  Their patience and professionalism is great.  I wouldn’t trust our eyes to anyone else.Evelyn More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 23, 2009

First of all, this place was extraordinary in terms of almost everything, this is a top-notch place that always tries to help. But I should start by saying that our appointment was canceled twice before I had it, though that was probably cause of the timing (holidays).  The staff were good and helpful, and the premises was very clean and professional. You could tell the equipment was top-notch. When Dr. Kent Kirk came in, you could tell that he was a good doctor. He answered many of my questions very well and helped us through the whole experience. I was happy to hear of all the services he offers, including the contacts specialists.  The glasses store was the best! Although quite small, the store had LOTS of fashionable glasses and sunglasses at all price ranges. The girl who helped me get new glasses was VERY experienced and new what she was doing. She helped me find 2 perfect pairs, both which she chose. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 21, 2009

I saw the one star review and feel I need to do what I can to wipe out what that one unfortunate phone call is doing to the Kirk Eye Center's rating. Eight years ago I had my "legally blind" classified vision repaired with the help of Dr. Kirk and his lasik surgery. The surgery was quick and the Valium they give you before is helpful in calming your nerves. We're talking about your eyes here, lasers on your eyes. You're awake and you can smell the burning. So yea...take the Valium. As soon as you're done you sit up and can see. It's absofuckinglutely amazing. You pick up some pain meds at the pharmacy on the way home and then sleep with goggles on until the eyes heal themselves beyond the pain. I, though, woke up only a few hours after my surgery in unbearable pain. I found my husband and had him call Dr. Kirk on his cell phone. It was 11:00 PM., he would have to pick up the medication from his office and meet us. I lived in Roger's Park then, the Doctor was at a fund raiser in Hyde Park, my magic eye drops were in Forest Park. We met on Columbus Drive. Dr. Kirk was in his tuxedo and asked to have the pleasure of administering my drops; they worked immediately. "My hero," I said. My husband sighed a big sigh and then off went my knight in his BMW back to his fundraiser. He called the next day to see how I was doing even before I came in for my appointment. This kind of care and attention is why I highly recommend the place. The Center is named for this man and his brother, it is their care and skill that I'm rating. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 21, 2009

I saw the one star review and feel I need to do what I can to wipe out what that one unfortunate phone call is doing to the Kirk Eye Center’s rating. Eight years ago I had my "legally blind" classified vision repaired with the help of Dr. Kirk and his lasik surgery. The surgery was quick and the Valium they give you before is helpful in calming your nerves. We’re talking about your eyes here, lasers on your eyes. You’re awake and you can smell the burning. So yea...take the Valium. As soon as you’re done you sit up and can see. It’s absofuckinglutely amazing. You pick up some pain meds at the pharmacy on the way home and then sleep with goggles on until the eyes heal themselves beyond the pain. I, though, woke up only a few hours after my surgery in unbearable pain. I found my husband and had him call Dr. Kirk on his cell phone. It was 11:00 PM., he would have to pick up the medication from his office and meet us. I lived in Roger’s Park then, the Doctor was at a fund raiser in Hyde Park, my magic eye drops were in Forest Park. We met on Columbus Drive. Dr. Kirk was in his tuxedo and asked to have the pleasure of administering my drops; they worked immediately. "My hero," I said. My husband sighed a big sigh and then off went my knight in his BMW back to his fundraiser. He called the next day to see how I was doing even before I came in for my appointment. This kind of care and attention is why I highly recommend the place. The Center is named for this man and his brother, it is their care and skill that I’m rating. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 16, 2006

If you need your eyes checked out, I would definitely go here.  The people are nice and your appointment generally starts on time.  The doctors are very good and know what they are doing.  Th exam is also usually fast, yet very thorough.  As a testimonial to how good this place is, people from far aways suburbs come here.  in fact, when i last went,  one guy was in town from another state and thought that as long as he is in town, he should come here since he was here a long time ago. Don't get me wrong though, while the cost of the exam is cheap, the glasses and contact lenses will cost more here than at Lens Crafters.  But the doctors always know what they are doing. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 16, 2006

If you need your eyes checked out, I would definitely go here.  The people are nice and your appointment generally starts on time.  The doctors are very good and know what they are doing.  Th exam is also usually fast, yet very thorough.  As a testimonial to how good this place is, people from far aways suburbs come here.  in fact, when i last went,  one guy was in town from another state and thought that as long as he is in town, he should come here since he was here a long time ago. Don’t get me wrong though, while the cost of the exam is cheap, the glasses and contact lenses will cost more here than at Lens Crafters.  But the doctors always know what they are doing. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.