New Location Now Open in Glen Ellyn!

Reviews for River Forest, IL Ophthalmologist Hiral Patel, OD

The team at Kirk Eye Center is dedicated to providing a wide range of eye care services to meet your unique vision needs. We are a family-owned practice founded more than 50 years ago, currently spanning three generations of doctors. Over the years, many patients have trusted us to provide high-quality ophthalmology care in a safe and attentive environment. We invite you to take a look at our patient feedback to learn more about what you can expect when you visit us in River Forest or Gurnee, IL.

Filter10 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

I read the reviews on the internet and selected Kirk Eye Center and what a great decision that was. My vision was getting cloudy and I decided it was time to get my eyes checked. I needed cataract surgery and Dr Kent Kirk performed that for me yesterday. The procedure took about 15 minutes and there was no pain during the entire procedure. I had zero side effects: no inflammation, no infection, no swelling, no bleeding, no glaucoma or retinal problems. As I write today online, I can read the computer screen better now than with my glasses. At my followup visit today Dr Kent Kirk told me that everything was so successful that I could start driving again. No restrictions. I couldn't be more pleased. Dr Kent Kirk is the "Michael Jordan" of ophthalmologists. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

Recently had cataract surgery in March 2020 and it was overall the most Excellent service I could of ever hoped for. You were warmly welcomed, Each person introduced themselves to you and guided you along as to what was happening next, So very well organized and ran very smoothly. I was totally delighted in the service I received. I had total confidence in Dr. Kent Kirk and his surgical staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

Very friendly and accommodating. Everyone there from the time you walk in is very professional and knowledgeable. Love it here. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

Kirk eye center has helped me in my eye sight and knowledge of my eye disease... Thank you kirk eye center for all your help.... I feel like I'm in good hands More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

Hello, I am going to share my whole experience from start to finish on my LASIK journey with Kirk Eye Center. (To get the overall review if you don’t care to read the whole story, skip to last paragraph) I found them online and read some reviews and saw they had FREE LASIK consultations, so I decided to enter in my information and see where that takes me. A few days later I received an email about a setting up an appointment for the consultation. I got quick email replies which was nice and set up my appointment. A week later it was time for my appointment, I get in and got checked in quickly! They brought me in the back and began by asking questions on my health background. Then they proceeded to check my eye sight. After that they put in some numbing drops and used a pen to check my eye pressure. The numbing drops worked amazing but it did feel very weird, normal though. After that I was seated back in the waiting room for about 10 minutes. I was then ask to come into another room where they did a scan of my eyes, this was very cool and interesting to me. After that I was put into a room to wait to see the Dr. I only waited about 5 minutes until he came in. He checked my eyes and went over all of my information to discuss if I was a good candidate for LASIK or not which I was. I did have a dry spot on my eye which he figured was just temporary and gave me a few eyedrops and if I did go ahead with the procedure he wanted to have me come back in to check to see if it had cleared up. After that I was placed back into the waiting room until I think her name was Joyce came and brought me back to talk about the numbers part. She was very helpful and answered all of my questions and didn’t pressure me into anything and I went on my way for the day with my information. I decided to go ahead and do the procedure so I emailed them and filled out my paperwork and got a date. My date was only a week away which was crazy fast and I had a lot of mixed feeling at this point since I was honestly nervous. I got back in to get my eye checked before hand and everything went well with that. Surgery day I got there, they took me back and took vitals and explained what was going to happen and gave me something to help relax me since I was basically having a panic attack at this point. The procedure was extremely fast. I would say I was only a total of maybe 2 min of being worked on, minus the prep time and such, but that wasn’t a big deal. After I was done my eyes were very sensitive and tired so someone read me my after care instructions. I then was ready to go. I was only there for about 1 hour to an hour and 15. I got home and I attempted to nap like I was recommended. I laid down but my eyes started to spasm intensely and I tossed and turned for about 45 minutes in extreme pain just trying to get the spasming to stop. I could barely open my eyes at this point and got ahold of the Dr. he instructed me on what to do and within about 15 min they stopped spasming and I was able to rest a few hours with my eyes closed. Later that night I was watching TV and had basically perfect vision minus the slight blurriness. My next day checkup went as smoothly and my consultation. At this point I had 20/20 vision and my eyes felt great, no pain or anything. It is a week later as I am writing this and I have done all my eyedrops and aftercare as I was instructed and I haven’t had any problems. If you stuck it out through this experience, I would definitely say if you are considering getting LASIK, do it with Kirk Eye Center. They have gone above and beyond my expectations! I even went back and purchased a nice pair of sunglasses with their great optical team to protect my new eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

I had cataract surgery over a year ago, and I hesitated to write a review until I knew if there would be any future complications. And there were none! Cataract surgery was one of the best gifts I’ve ever given myself. For years I’ve struggled with reading glasses, and at age 73 my vision became more and more blurred, and everything just looked a bit foggier and gloomier. I assumed it was my age, but made an appointment with Dr. Kent Kirk to be on the safe side. He was very kind and easy to talk to, and after being tested, I was told I had cataracts, and he recommended the surgery. He also said I was a good candidate to have my vision corrected as well, although Medicare would only insure the basic surgery. I have a very tight budget in retirement, so it was not an easy decision. But I took the chance, put it on a credit card, and hoped for the best. I was very impressed with the expedient and systematic way in which the whole procedure was handled. There was no waiting around - when I came in, they were ready for me. There was no pain, no discomfort, and I was ready to go home in less than a half hour. On that very first day, I was amazed that I could see clearly, without glasses, and instead of the usual off-color cast over my entire environment, I saw more whites, more blues, less grays and browns. The recovery period lasted only a few days, and that too was painless - just a routine of eye drops for a period of time. I am now in my mid 70’s, and when I visit my 45 and 50 year old children, they’re reaching for their reading glasses every few minutes, and their mom has perfect vision! Nothing has deteriorated since then, and I would highly recommend this outstanding eye clinic. And I haven’t regretted for a moment my having to use a credit card to pay for it. Carol Strunc Westchester, IL More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

I had LASIK at Kirk Eye Center last week and couldn't have had a better experience. Dr. Kent Kirk was awesome and I felt like he really cared about my eye health. I had previously gone for a consultation at LasikPlus and felt a little uneasy there. It felt like they were trying to get me scheduled for the procedure as fast as possible and spent more time talking about payment than looking at my eyes. I made the appointment at Kirk just to see if it was any different. Dr. Kirk had some concerns about a few things, scheduled me for some extra tests, and I felt so much more taken care of there. It felt like he actually cared about my long term wellness vs just wanting to schedule me for an expensive procedure and get me out the door. Everyone at Kirk was professional, accommodating, and friendly. The LASIK itself was so incredibly fast and painless that I could hardly believe it. Dr. Kirk and the nurses there all prepared me really well for the whole procedure and what would happen after. I'm normally very nervous for medical procedures, but I found the LASIK to be no big deal. It was certainly uncomfortable in the few hours following, but I knew it was normal and got through it with no problems. The next day, I was seeing 20/20 and I have had zero issues in the week since. I keep thinking that I'll try to take my contacts out before I go to sleep because my vision is so good. I would highly recommend going to Kirk to anyone who has been thinking about LASIK. It will change your life! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

My experience was great. In my mid 40's and had cataracts removed from both eyes and opted for Tecnis lenses. I am so happy with my recovery and results. Once the "worse" eye was done I realized how bad my "good" eye was. I can't say enough good things about my treatment and care at Kirk Eye Center (Surevision Gurnee, IL) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.J.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

If you're going to have any kind of EYE SURGERY THIS IS THE PLACE TO HAVE IT DONE. This my second Eye Surgery, I had my left eye done 2 years ago. There Is NO PLACE BETTER to have Eye Surgery. From the second you walk in the door and are Greeted by the People that are going too take care of you, you'll feel like your in GOOD HANDS. It doesn't end after your surgery but they are concerned with your surgery until you Walk out of Their Offices and Tell your family and friends how "HAPPY you Feel and How Great you were taken Care Of " and it continues with All your follow up visits . 😊 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 11, 2020

Nice cadre of good doctors and great selection of eyecare with fabulous optical staff. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.