New Location Now Open in Glen Ellyn!

Reviews for River Forest, IL Ophthalmologist Hiral Patel, OD

The team at Kirk Eye Center is dedicated to providing a wide range of eye care services to meet your unique vision needs. We are a family-owned practice founded more than 50 years ago, currently spanning three generations of doctors. Over the years, many patients have trusted us to provide high-quality ophthalmology care in a safe and attentive environment. We invite you to take a look at our patient feedback to learn more about what you can expect when you visit us in River Forest or Gurnee, IL.

Filter7 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 02, 2022

I don’t think words can express the gratitude I feel towards Dr. Kirk and his incredible office and surgical staff for all that they did for me. I had ICL surgery done last month and it has been life changing.  Dr. Kirk was informative, helpful and answered every single question I had before and after surgery.  The timing of my recovery overlapped with some personal plans, and Dr. Kirk and his staff went out of their way to still schedule my first few appointments on days and/or times that they don’t normally schedule patients in order to ensure that everything looked and felt good after the procedure. I couldn’t believe how kind and thoughtful they all were. Not only am I still in awe of having perfect vision again, I will forever be grateful to Kirk Eye Center for everything they did for me. I highly recommend Dr. Kirk and the ICL surgery! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from L.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 13, 2022

I had refractive lens surgery to correct far sightedness and astigmatism at Kirk eye center, and have had a very good outcome. Scott Kirk performed the incision via laser surgery, and Kent placed the lens...I am very pleased and would recommend anyone interested in vision corrective surgery to consult with Drs. Kirk. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from R.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 01, 2020

My opinion on lasik surgery at Dr. Kirks Office: 1. Customer service 2. pain 3. recovery & vision...1. I had lasik surgery at this office and appreciated the medical staff very much. Once you pass the customer service desk the nurse aids and all staff in back are very welcoming and sweet. Made me feel very comfortable compared to a major lasik company I visited months prior and opted out of doing service with.  I will say that the front desk team could come across a bit rushed and too busy to really focus on me and truly make me feel "special".... after all I’m forking over a lot of money for lasik right? If you ask me, this is an expensive investment I’m making on my sight so I would expect nothing less then top notch service from the greeters. But they didn’t perform the surgery so let’s move on. Dr. KIRK was pleasant and well experienced. My first visit with him was short but efficient. I only wish I would have shared more about my eyes so that I could feel like he knew more about my health before surgery. I’m sure he had all he needed with his experience through the exams and all... but I guess just to make me feel more at ease with this ...maybe just a few more questions about my eye history.  2. The pain was excruciating.  No one could have EVER prepared me for the pain I felt. Was it the numbing drops? Did they not wait long enough for it to take effect? Was I just not tolerant enough? Were my eyes just too sensisitive from sleeping with contacts over the years? (Something I never shared) am I not good with anesthesia? I had so many questions as to why I felt SO MUCH pain during the surgery process. On my first eye, I felt the cornea lifted up and it burned, but I didn’t on the second eye. The pressure on my eyes was unbearable. I was referred here and it was due to several great experiences so I truly don’t question the Drs ability and have no negative feedback after my recovery because my results speak for themself ...I CAN SEE!!:)  but just the mere fact that I was expecting "a painless" surgery, and maybe just uncomfortable at most is why I give this a 4 star rating. I will say that most people if not all say its painless so now I just question Everyone’s honesty on this! 3. Recovery.... I could see on DAY 1 after surgery... very sensitive eyes of course. But I was pleasantly surprised that my vision was good! Normally -5/-4 ....now 20/20? I do have to say that when you wear contacts vision is so sharp its not the same with lasik. Its almost like a spark of clarity is missing. Wish I would have been prepared for that. Because you expect perfection ... but its more of natural perfection vs modern perfection if that makes sense? Its almost like you do settle for a tiny bit less . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 28, 2020

I knew that I had to go to the eye doctor, as my eyesight seemed to be getting worse and worse, and that it was quite possibly because of cataracts.  Not being able to see up close is in my estimation, somewhat of a relative issue, but driving at night was becoming more difficult.  Halos on headlights or any type of street light was soon going to be a limitation.I came to Dr. Kent Kirk because my former eye doctor had retired after many years and my files had been transferred to the Kirk Eye Center.  I found Dr. Kent Kirk to be very professional and knowledgeable about the procedures that he would be doing on my eyes.  He took me through the procedure step-by-step.  I actually decided to have the cataract surgery performed on my left eye, just two days before my birthday.  Though I was a bit apprehensive, I found that everything that was done, was exactly what had been outlined.  One thing that I had learned prior to the surgery was that cataract surgery was first performed in about 1750 and I really figured that this surgery would go with no issue.  Little did I know that the surgery would go way better than I could have imagined.  I found that on the way home, I already could see more clearly, whether it was license plates on vehicle around me, street signs, or even brighter interior lights. My left eye was markedly improved.  I came back the next day for the post-surgery follow-up and Dr. Kirk was quite pleased with his work, as was I.He did ask when I wanted to do the right eye and I immediately told him - asap!  I was able to have the appointment for the right eye surgery, 13 days later.  This time the cataract surgery went easily, as well as the first.  The big difference was there was very little apprehension on my part.  Again, I was amazed at how well my vision had improved on the way home.  In fact, I don’t really know if I had ever seen as well as I do now.I had glasses from when I was first in grammar school, but I went away from glasses and in to contacts in about December of 1974.  I was working as a rookie policeman and was assigned to a "bank robbery in progress" call.  When I entered the bank, my glasses fogged up.  Within days, I made the appointment for contacts.  From December 1974, I never wore glasses again.Now with the cataract surgery done on both eyes, I find that I do not need glasses for distance, and, amazingly, I will only need reading glasses that are at the lower end of the prescription range and that depends on just how small the letters are.All things considered, this may have been one of the best choices that I have ever made.  At my age, I can probably say that my knee replacement was good, but, you know, there is nothing like being able to see clearly.Dr. Kent Kirk and his staff, both at the normal visits and the two surgery visits were fantastic.  They exhibited a great deal of professionalism and, I must say that I was quite impressed with just how routine they could make this surgery.  If you are unsure, I say - go for it!  And Dr. Kent Kirk is the right person for getting the job done right. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 20, 2019

I am glad to have chosen Kirk Eye Center to get my Lasik surgery done. From start to finish the experience could not have gone better. I went in for my free consultation where my eyes were thoroughly examined and I was told I was a candidate. Dr. Kent Kirk thoroughly explained the procedure to me and what I could expect afterward as well as the timeline of how my vision would progress. He took the time to answer all of my questions, and I did not feel rushed at all, which I have experienced quite a bit with other doctors and what I gleaned from other people’s reviews of some of the "cattle call" Lasik centers in the area. The day of the procedure, I was at the surgery center for less than an hour and a half. I didn’t have to wait at all, and the process was streamlined but again, I did not feel rushed. The staff was so nice and seemed genuinely concerned that everything went well. Dr. Kirk explained the process and it went exactly as he said it would go. It was about 30 seconds of total time under the lasers for each eye and the process was nowhere near as uncomfortable as I had imagined. Dr. Kirk gives you his cell phone number to call if you need anything or have any issues. I went home and took a nap, and Dr. Kirk called me that night to make sure everything was okay which is a nice touch. By the next day my vision was restored to a level it hasn’t been since I was 20 years old! It has been 4 days and so far so good. Just like you always hear, my only regret is that I didn’t do this sooner! Great experience, great staff, great doctor, I highly recommend Kirk Eye Center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 16, 2015

I have been wearing glasses/contacts since 2nd grade, and decided that my 30th birthday present to myself would be LASIK surgery. As a physician, my eyes are extremely important to my future ability to work, so I wanted the best care I could find. After talking with several local residents who have received LASIK, it seemed evident that Kirk Eye Center provided the best care in the area. With something as important as my vision, I wanted to be in the best hands.My experience did not disappoint. My initial appointment to determine if I was to be a good candidate for LASIK surgery was handled extremely professionally, and the explanation that Dr. Kent Kirk provided me with how the surgery worked, side effects, and what to expect afterwards was superb. I was able to schedule my surgery at the NovaMed surgery center three months later (he performs the surgery once a month). Katie, the surgery coordinator, was extremely helpful and cooperative in setting up all the details.The day of the surgery, I felt well cared for by the surgery staff and coordinators. Dr. Kirk again explained what he would be doing, what to expect, and how long everything would take. The whole procedure took less than an hour, I went home to take a 4 hour nap (thank you, valium) with some mild burning relieved by an anti-inflammatory eye drop, and besides some increased tear production initially, today have better than 20/20 vision. I could not be happier. Dr. Kirk even called that evening to personally check in to see how things were going.Again, I am a fairly new physician who interacts with many patients every day. It can sometimes get busy which can manifest itself in staff becoming agitated. However, as busy as Dr. Kirk must be, the care and professionalism demonstrated by him and his staff was textbook. When it comes to your eyes, do yourself and a favor and go with the Kirk Eye Center. You won’t regret it. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 25, 2014

I recently went in to see if I could get Lasik.  I had perfect vision growing up and with age, I noticed my vision getting worse (Presbyopia).  First cheaters in my 40s and then monovision and then bifocal contacts and glasses.  Then I node my general vision was also declining.  At age 58, this was not how I wanted to continue.After an extensive exam, Dr. Kirk advised me that I wasn’t a "good candidate for Lasik" as he noted an early onset of cataracts. It was not immediately noticeable and there was no cloudiness.  Dr. Kirk told me the first clue, which resulted in a much more detailed exam was  that my prescription changed a full 2 diopters in one year and that was a sign of possible cataracts.  A less detailed exam might not have picked this up until they were more developed.  My vision would only continue to get worse and undo the good of the Laisik. While the cataracts would not become an issue for perhaps 15 years, I would need to stay in glasses or contacts and have worsening vision each year.  The proposed long-term solution would be to have cataract surgery and then have bifocal lenses implanted.  Considered elective surgery, it was costlier than Lasik, but it was a "lifetime" solution, meaning my vision would never worsen after the surgery.After independent research, I agreed and have had both eyes repaired.  I had the "Restore" IOLs implanted.  Their staff are all very helpful and I had all of my concerns addressed.  They did not make promises of perfect vision, only that I would see an great improvement.  This type of procedure also meant I would never develop cataracts.The eyes were done one at a time, two weeks apart.  The procedures were totally pain free.  I did decline any sedation, as I wanted to fully understand what was happening.  There was no need for it.  The  doctors (Scott for the first and Kent for the second) both made sure I understood everything that was going on.  The follow up care was excellent.The best way to describe the results are miraculous!  I now have 20/20 vision in both eyes and am totally free of any additional eyewear (including cheaters).  I also noticed that I no longer saw "floaters" which I had begun to see over the past year.  I have crystal clear vision and good not be happier. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.