New Location Now Open in Glen Ellyn!

Reviews for Cataracts Services Near River Forest, IL

The team at Kirk Eye Center is dedicated to providing a wide range of eye care services to meet your unique vision needs. We are a family-owned practice founded more than 50 years ago, currently spanning three generations of doctors. Over the years, many patients have trusted us to provide high-quality ophthalmology care in a safe and attentive environment. We invite you to take a look at our patient feedback to learn more about what you can expect when you visit us in River Forest or Gurnee, IL.

Filter29 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from W.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 17, 2022

Very pleased with the results of recent cataract surgery. The staff was excellent. Just as important as the recent results was the excellent way they prepared me for the experience to come and handled my questions. Highly recommended if you’re in need of cataract surgery or need to find out if you are. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 13, 2022

Surgical center staff was wonderful and the process was efficient yet still caring. Cataract surgery was painless and I was sewing later that evening with vastly improved vision. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 22, 2022

Although I am fairly young, for some reason my eyes started to develop cataracts. Getting to a point when driving my car became a dangerous adventure, after a thorough search on internet I have opted for cataract surgery at Kirk Eye Center. I wasn’t disappointed, everything there was top notch! Starting from the receptionists to the nurses, I was always treated in a very professional and courteous manner. Many thanks to Ms Joyce Wolter, the surgery manager who helped me going through all the paperwork and dealed with my insurance! She made everything look easy to me! All my life since childhood I’ve had poor vision but now after my right eye surgery I have 20/20 vision! It feels like I am reborn, all these vibrant colors and multitude of details I have never been aware before! Thank you from the bottom of my heart, Dr Scott Kirk! You gave me the best gift! We all take for granted the vision and we realize that only after we lose it! Note: I have opted for premium IOL’s, I wanted for my eyes the best I can get. They are quite expensive and not covered by insurance, but I can personally state that they worth every penny! I cannot wait for the left eye surgery a week from today! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 30, 2022

I had cataract surgery on my right eye October 26th 2021 and then on April 26th 2022 I had surgery on my other eye for cataracts. Both eye surgeries were to correct my long distance vision. And it wound up correcting both visions. I was supposed to have only reading glasses after both surgeries but as a result I no longer need glasses for either. I couldn't be happier Dr Carter Kirk and his family did wonders I highly recommend them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 16, 2022

Amazing eye service! Professional, knowledgeable, organized eye service for cataract surgery. Pain free and results above expectations! From the receptionist to the doctor, Kirk eye center delivered exceptional srervice!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 03, 2022

I am so happy with the results of my first cataract surgery that I have already scheduled the one in my right eye. Everyone at Kirk is professional, compassionate, and wonderful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 19, 2022

I had a cataract that needed removing for quite some time. I made an appointment for late December 2021. It is late January 2022 and I have had cataract surgery on both eyes. I cannot tell you how pleased I am with my entire experience at Kirk Eye Center. All of the helpers are super nice and proficient. My doctor was Dr. Kent Kirk and I am so pleased with the experience of his care. His 'favorite' word is beautiful regarding the healing process. Too cute and very encouraging. The surgeries themselves went super well, fast and efficiently. I can actually read without glasses for the first time in 60 years. I am totally satisfied with my entire experience at Kirk Eye Care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2022

Dr Scarpulla and team are very thorough and professional. They explain everything in an understandable way and walk you through the entire process. I am very happy with the cataract surgery performed 3 years ago and am going to have my other eye done by Dr Scarpulla in the next few weeks. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 30, 2022

I had a cataract that needed removing for quite some time. I made an appointment for late December 2021. It is late January 2022 and I have had cataract surgery on both eyes. I cannot tell you how pleased I am with my entire experience at Kirk Eye Center. All of the helpers are super nice and proficient. My doctor was Dr. Kent Kirk and I am so pleased with the experience of his care. His 'favorite' word is beautiful regarding the healing process. Too cute and very encouraging. The surgeries themselves went super well, fast and efficiently. I can actually read without glasses for the first time in 60 years. I am totally satisfied with my entire experience at Kirk Eye Care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 19, 2022

I needed cataract surgery and was referred to Kirk Eye Center. Everyone at both the Gurnee office and the surgery center were fantastic. Like most people, I was very nervous about getting eye surgery done. The staff at Kirk Eye Center are very caring professionals and put me at ease about the surgery. Thanks to Dr. Tyler I can now see better than I ever did before. I highly recommend Kirk Eye Center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 03, 2022

I needed cataract surgery and was referred to Kirk Eye Center. Everyone at both the Gurnee office and the surgery center were fantastic. Like most people, I was very nervous about getting eye surgery done. The staff at Kirk Eye Center are very caring professionals and put me at ease about the surgery. Thanks to Dr. Tyler I can now see better than I ever did before. I highly recommend Kirk Eye Center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 02, 2022

I had cataract surgery about 2 weeks ago. I was nervous but they calmed me down and everything went great. Everyone was so nice and caring. My vision is great now and there was nothing to be nervous about. For me it was a painless procedure. I recommend Kirk Eye Center if you need vision care. I am happy with my results. Jan More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 06, 2021

I had cataract surgery on sept 9th and 23rd . For Professional, Quality, and Heart, THIS IS WHERE YOU WANT TO BE !!!! LOOK NO FURTHER, it Doesn't get any Better! Question: How Many KIRKS did GOD create and put in one location for your benefit and mine? To all the Doctors and the staff " YOUR THE BEST ". Thank You and God Bless You. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 03, 2021

Just finished having cataract surgery on both of my eyes at Kirk Eye Center and I can see again!! The staff and physicians at the eye and surgical center are wonderful. They are professional, clean, helpful, prompt, and best of all, kind. Thank you Dr. Tyler for giving me my sight back again! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 31, 2021

I have had cataract surgery in the past 3 weeks. My vision is remarkable! I want to thank those at River Forest location. Your care and compassion is over the top! So thank you Anna, Laura, and Cindy, and Suzanne at the front desk. Thank you to the great staff at the Gurnee location. You're wonderful! And of course thank you Dr. Tyler Kirk and Dr. Scott Kirk. I would and will highly recommend Kirk Eye Center to anyone inquiring. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 19, 2021

Submitting this on behalf of Paul Koko. Paul had surgery on both eyes by Dr. Scott Kirk. One eye was nearsighted and the other was far sighted. First procedure included an Antistigmatic Lens to correct the stigmatism in left eye and two weeks later had "regular" cataract surgery to right eye. Both are doing great. Uses inexpensive "reader" classes for fine print but does not need for general tasks. Everyone in Surgical Center was courteous, helpful and there was no pain at all. Total procedure took only about 18 minutes. Went home after short rest. We have been patients at Kirk Eye Center for more than 40 years and highly recommend their kind and excellent treatment. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 28, 2021

Submitting this on behalf of Paul Koko. Paul had surgery on both eyes by Dr. Scott Kirk. One eye was nearsighted and the other was far sighted. First procedure included an Antistigmatic Lens to correct the stigmatism in left eye and two weeks later had "regular" cataract surgery to right eye. Both are doing great. Uses inexpensive "reader" classes for fine print but does not need for general tasks. Everyone in Surgical Center was courteous, helpful and there was no pain at all. Total procedure took only about 18 minutes. Went home after short rest. We have been patients at Kirk Eye Center for more than 40 years and highly recommend their kind and excellent treatment. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 25, 2021

Both of my parents have had cataract surgery with Kirk Eye Center in Gurnee and they couldn’t be more pleased. The staff makes it easy and convenient, including a shuttle to the surgical center. Both of their vision improved dramatically, and painlessly. I would highly recommend Kirk Eye Center to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 08, 2021

Kirk Eye Center is a wonderful office with absolutely amazing doctors. I have had experiences with a lot of the office staff and most of the doctors that work here and they are as nice as they come. Having a surgery center connected to the main office building is extremely convenient for cataract surgery too! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Google  |  May 19, 2021

I can not say enough about Kirk Eye Center. Lovely office, kind and understanding staff. Dr. Carter is great.... patient, understanding and kind. The ladies at the front desk are always welcoming. Joyce is so helpful when scheduling surgery. The surgical staff is amazing. After years of putting off cataract surgery because of my own fears, they made the experience as seamless as possible. I highly, highly recommend this practice for any optical needs!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2021

I had cataract surgery at the Kirk Eye Center and I must say they are wonderful! Dr. Scott Kirk did a very good job. I'm very impressed with the care he provided and the staff there. I definitely give them 5+ stars. Tina Wesley More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2021

I knew that I had to go to the eye doctor, as my eyesight seemed to be getting worse and worse, and that it was quite possibly because of cataracts. Not being able to see up close is in my estimation, somewhat of a relative issue, but driving at night was becoming more difficult. Halos on headlights or any type of street light was soon going to be a limitation. I came to Dr. Kent Kirk because my former eye doctor had retired after many years and my files had been transferred to the Kirk Eye Center. I found Dr. Kent Kirk to be very professional and knowledgeable about the procedures that he would be doing on my eyes. He took me through the procedure step-by-step. I actually decided to have the cataract surgery performed on my left eye, just two days before my birthday. Though I was a bit apprehensive, I found that everything that was done, was exactly what had been outlined. One thing that I had learned prior to the surgery was that cataract surgery was first performed in about 1750 and I really figured that this surgery would go with no issue. Little did I know that the surgery would go way better than I could have imagined. I found that on the way home, I already could see more clearly, whether it was license plates on vehicle around me, street signs, or even brighter interior lights. My left eye was markedly improved. I came back the next day for the post-surgery follow-up and Dr. Kirk was quite pleased with his work, as was I. He did ask when I wanted to do the right eye and I immediately told him - asap! I was able to have the appointment for the right eye surgery, 13 days later. This time the cataract surgery went easily, as well as the first. The big difference was there was very little apprehension on my part. Again, I was amazed at how well my vision had improved on the way home. In fact, I don’t really know if I had ever seen as well as I do now. I had glasses from when I was first in grammar school, but I went away from glasses and in to contacts in about December of 1974. I was working as a rookie policeman and was assigned to a “bank robbery in progress” call. When I entered the bank, my glasses fogged up. Within days, I made the appointment for contacts. From December 1974, I never wore glasses again. Now with the cataract surgery done on both eyes, I find that I do not need glasses for distance, and, amazingly, I will only need reading glasses that are at the lower end of the prescription range and that depends on just how small the letters are. All things considered, this may have been one of the best choices that I have ever made. At my age, I can probably say that my knee replacement was good, but, you know, there is nothing like being able to see clearly. Dr. Kent Kirk and his staff, both at the normal visits and the two surgery visits were fantastic. They exhibited a great deal of professionalism and, I must say that I was quite impressed with just how routine they could make this surgery. If you are unsure, I say - go for it! And Dr. Kent Kirk is the right person for getting the job done right. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 29, 2020

I knew that I had to go to the eye doctor, as my eyesight seemed to be getting worse and worse, and that it was quite possibly because of cataracts. Not being able to see up close is in my estimation, somewhat of a relative issue, but driving at night was becoming more difficult. Halos on headlights or any type of street light was soon going to be a limitation. I came to Dr. Kent Kirk because my former eye doctor had retired after many years and my files had been transferred to the Kirk Eye Center. I found Dr. Kent Kirk to be very professional and knowledgeable about the procedures that he would be doing on my eyes. He took me through the procedure step-by-step. I actually decided to have the cataract surgery performed on my left eye, just two days before my birthday. Though I was a bit apprehensive, I found that everything that was done, was exactly what had been outlined. One thing that I had learned prior to the surgery was that cataract surgery was first performed in about 1750 and I really figured that this surgery would go with no issue. Little did I know that the surgery would go way better than I could have imagined. I found that on the way home, I already could see more clearly, whether it was license plates on vehicle around me, street signs, or even brighter interior lights. My left eye was markedly improved. I came back the next day for the post-surgery follow-up and Dr. Kirk was quite pleased with his work, as was I. He did ask when I wanted to do the right eye and I immediately told him - asap! I was able to have the appointment for the right eye surgery, 13 days later. This time the cataract surgery went easily, as well as the first. The big difference was there was very little apprehension on my part. Again, I was amazed at how well my vision had improved on the way home. In fact, I don’t really know if I had ever seen as well as I do now. I had glasses from when I was first in grammar school, but I went away from glasses and in to contacts in about December of 1974. I was working as a rookie policeman and was assigned to a “bank robbery in progress” call. When I entered the bank, my glasses fogged up. Within days, I made the appointment for contacts. From December 1974, I never wore glasses again. Now with the cataract surgery done on both eyes, I find that I do not need glasses for distance, and, amazingly, I will only need reading glasses that are at the lower end of the prescription range and that depends on just how small the letters are. All things considered, this may have been one of the best choices that I have ever made. At my age, I can probably say that my knee replacement was good, but, you know, there is nothing like being able to see clearly. Dr. Kent Kirk and his staff, both at the normal visits and the two surgery visits were fantastic. They exhibited a great deal of professionalism and, I must say that I was quite impressed with just how routine they could make this surgery. If you are unsure, I say - go for it! And Dr. Kent Kirk is the right person for getting the job done right. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 11, 2020

This is the first anniversary of my laser cataract surgery with Kirk Eye Center and I just wanted to say my vision has never been better. I'm 20/20 for distance and only need standard 2.5 power reading glasses for reading. I am very grateful to Drs. Scott and Carter Kirk for the great job they did. Everyone in the office is very courteous and professional and my wife and I will always go to them in the future for all our vision needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2020

Everyone here is so nice and considerate. I am thrilled with my cataract surgery. Everything went well and my vision is amazing! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2019

I had my cataract surgery and it went very well. Dr. KIRK and his entire staff were professional and caring. I highly recommend this clinic . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2019

I just had cataract surgery. I highly recommend Kirk Eye Center! I cant praise Kirk Eye Center in Gurnee and NovaMed Center in River Forest enough!. Both are professional and do an amazing job at keeping you informed and relaxed regarding the procedure. They have the process down to a choreographed science.Every dept. and every person is professional, can answer any question, they take their time with you, but they don't waste it either. Dr. Scott Kirk is wonderful as well as Michelle in the Gurnee office. If you have been told you need cataract surgery took up Dr. Scott Kirk in Gurnee and River Forest- you wont be sorry. The day after my surgery my vision was 20-25 in my left eye- everything was bright and clear. Remarkable since the day before surgery, my left eye, I could barely see,everything was cloudy, like being in a fog. Yes....5 stars to Kirk Eye Center and Dr. Scott Kirk and team!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2019

I had the pleasure of interacting with Dr. Scott Kirk, Dr. Kent Kirk, and Dr. Carter Kirk while having cataract surgery and lens replacement. The result is down right exciting. After wearing glasses for decades, the “Kirks” sent me away with no glasses and excellent eyesight: near and far. The entire experience was professional, friendly, and well informed at each stage. The staff operated with calm competent reassurance. Trusting one’s eyesight to anyone is a big deal. The Kirks have my appreciation and trust. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2018

I had the pleasure of interacting with Dr. Scott Kirk, Dr. Kent Kirk, and Dr. Carter Kirk while having cataract surgery and lens replacement. The result is down right exciting. After wearing glasses for decades, the “Kirks” sent me away with no glasses and excellent eyesight: near and far. The entire experience was professional, friendly, and well informed at each stage. The staff operated with calm competent reassurance. Trusting one’s eyesight to anyone is a big deal. The Kirks have my appreciation and trust. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.